Skip to Main Content

MAA Committee on the American Mathematics Competition

(Dissolved April 2022)

General Description

Principal Activities

The Committee is responsible for the policies of four examinations and our training session for the International Mathematical Olympiad. Associated with each of our examinations is a subcommittee which is responsible for writing the questions and solutions pamphlets associated with its examination. These subcommittees many times recommend changes in policy to the CAMC.

Miscellaneous Information

The composition of the CAMC is: representatives of all of the sponsoring organizations, the chairs of the subcommittees for the four examinations, and the executive director. The CAMC and each of the four subcommittees meet once each year. The CAMC will probably meet in January or February. Most of the question and solution writing done by the examination subcommittees is accomplished through the year by mail. In addition to the subcommittee members, there are about three dozen members of our Advisory Panel who assist in this exam construction by correspondence. Many subcommittee members for one exam also work on one or more of the other examinations by correspondence. This committee has been designated at LEVEL B.

Note to the Chair

Committee chairs should be informed, at the beginning of each fiscal period, of the budget of their committees and cautioned to remain within the budget. Such items as travel reimbursement, accommodations, and meals for guests of any kind fall within these budgets.

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

Year                Members
1987 – 1991   Guido L. Weiss
1991 – 1997   Richard P. Stanley
1997 – 2002   Noam Elkies
2003 – 2006   Ravi D. Vakil
2006 – 2012   Kiran S. Kedlaya
2012 – 2015   David Benko