Skip to Main Content

AMS-SIAM George David Birkhoff Prize Selection Committee

General Description

Principal Activities

The committee nominates a recipient. The committee will communicate its selection to the Secretary of the AMS and to the SIAM Prizes and Awards Coordinator for approval by the Executive Committees of the AMS and SIAM Councils. The prize is awarded every three years to a mathematician for “an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.” The award is made jointly by the American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. The recipient must be a member of one of these societies.

Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (as adopted by the April 2019 Council)
The American Mathematical Society is committed to promoting and facilitating equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the mathematical sciences. For its own long-term prosperity as well as that of the public at large, our discipline must connect with and appropriately incorporate all sectors of society. We reaffirm the pledge in the AMS Mission Statement to "advance the status of the profession of mathematics, encouraging and facilitating full participation of all individuals," and urge all members to conduct their professional activities with this goal in mind.

Miscellaneous Information

The Committee does its work by email and videoconference.

Note to the Chair

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

A list of members from 1989 onward is available at

Past Winners

Note: This prize should have been awarded in 1993, but due to unfortunate circumstances, this did not happen.

AMS Prize Webpage