Skip to Main Content

Bôcher Memorial Prize Selection Committee

General Description

Principal Activities

The Bôcher prize is made every three years at the Annual (January) Meeting, in a cycle including the years 2002, 2005, and so forth. The award is made for a notable research work in analysis that has appeared in the last six years. The work must be published in a recognized, peer-reviewed venue.

The committee recommends a winner and communicates this recommendation to the Secretary for approval by the Executive Committee of the Council.

Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
(as adopted by the April 2019 Council)

The American Mathematical Society is committed to promoting and facilitating equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the mathematical sciences. For its own long-term prosperity as well as that of the public at large, our discipline must connect with and appropriately incorporate all sectors of society. We reaffirm the pledge in the AMS Mission Statement to "advance the status of the profession of mathematics, encouraging and facilitating full participation of all individuals," and urge all members to conduct their professional activities with this goal in mind.

About this Prize

The first to be offered by the AMS, this prize was founded in 1923 in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher, who served as President of the AMS from 1909-1910. The original endowment was contributed by members of the Society. 

Miscellaneous Information

The business of this committee can be done by email or videoconference.

Note to the Chair

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

1968   L.V.Ahlfors, Norman Levinson, Louis Nirenberg
1973   Andrew M.Gleason, Isadore M.Singer, Antoni Zygmund
1978   Paul J.Cohen, Donald S.Ornstein, Walter Rudin
1983   Alberto P.Calderon, Peter D.Lax, I.M.Singer
1988   Paul J.Cohen, Richard B.Melrose, Louis Nirenberg

A list of current and past members from 1989 onward is available here:

Past Winners

AMS Prize Webpage