Skip to Main Content

Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize Selection Committee

General Description

Principal Activities

The prize is to be awarded for an outstanding contribution to research in mathematics during the past six years. It is to be given to a woman mathematician. The committee will communicate its selection to the Secretary for approval by the Executive Committee of the Council. The award will be presented at the Prize Session of the Business Meeting held during the Annual Meeting of the Society in odd numbered years, the first award to be made in 1991.

Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
(as adopted by the April 2019 Council)

The American Mathematical Society is committed to promoting and facilitating equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the mathematical sciences. For its own long-term prosperity as well as that of the public at large, our discipline must connect with and appropriately incorporate all sectors of society. We reaffirm the pledge in the AMS Mission Statement to "advance the status of the profession of mathematics, encouraging and facilitating full participation of all individuals," and urge all members to conduct their professional activities with this goal in mind.

Miscellaneous Information

The business of this committee can be done by email or videoconference.

The prize was funded by a contribution from Professor Joan Birman to honor the memory of Ruth Lyttle Satter.

Note to the Chair

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

A list of current and past members is available at:

Past Winners

AMS Prize Webpage