Skip to Main Content

Oswald Veblen Prize Selection Committee

General Description

Principal Activities

The award is made every three years at the Annual (January) Meeting, in a cycle including the years 2001, 2004, and so forth. The award is made for a notable research work in geometry or topology that has appeared in the last six years. The work must be published in a recognized, peer-reviewed venue.

The committee recommends a winner and communicates this recommendation to the Secretary for approval by the Executive Committee of the Council.

Past winners are listed in the November issue of the Notices in odd-numbered years.

Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
(as adopted by the April 2019 Council)

The American Mathematical Society is committed to promoting and facilitating equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the mathematical sciences. For its own long-term prosperity as well as that of the public at large, our discipline must connect with and appropriately incorporate all sectors of society. We reaffirm the pledge in the AMS Mission Statement to "advance the status of the profession of mathematics, encouraging and facilitating full participation of all individuals," and urge all members to conduct their professional activities with this goal in mind.

About this Prize

This prize was established in 1961 in memory of Professor Oswald Veblen through a fund contributed by former students and colleagues. The fund was later doubled by a gift from Elizabeth Veblen, widow of Professor Veblen. In honor of her late father, John L. Synge, who knew and admired Oswald Veblen, Cathleen Synge Morawetz and her husband, Herbert, substantially increased the endowed fund in 2013. The award is supplemented by a Steele Prize from the AMS under the name of the Veblen Prize. 

Miscellaneous Information

The business of this committee can be done by email or videoconference.

Note to the Chair

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

1964   no record
1966   Raoul Bott, S S Chern (Chair), G T Whyburn
1971   Raoul Bott (Chair), Morton Brown, Stephen Smale
1976   Shiing S Chern, Robion C Kirby, John W Milnor (Chair)
1981   Raoul H Bott, Eugene Calabi, William Thurston (Chair)
1986   R H Bing, Richard K Lashof, Shing-Tung Yau (Chair)

A list of current and past members from 1990 onwards is available here:

Past Winners

AMS Prize Webpage