Skip to Main Content

AMS-SIAM Committee to Select the Winner of the Wiener Prize

General Description


This prize was established in 1967 in honor of Professor Norbert Wiener and was endowed by a fund amounting to $2,000 from the Department of Mathematics of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The prize began in 1970. The award is made jointly by the American Mathematical Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. The recipient must be a member of one of these societies.

Principal Activities

The award is made every three years at the Annual Meeting. The award is made for “an outstanding contribution to applied mathematics in the highest and broadest sense.” It is recognized that some of the best work in applied mathematics is accretive, so that there is no established time interval or single mathematical discovery necessarily associated with a particular award.

The Committee recommends a winner. The award is approved by the Council of the AMS, approval being perhaps delegated to the Executive Committee, and by the Executive Committee of SIAM.

The award is supplemented by a Steele Prize from the AMS under the name of the Wiener Prize. This is a matter of no concern to the selection committee.

Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
(as adopted by the April 2019 Council)

The American Mathematical Society is committed to promoting and facilitating equity, diversity and inclusion throughout the mathematical sciences. For its own long-term prosperity as well as that of the public at large, our discipline must connect with and appropriately incorporate all sectors of society. We reaffirm the pledge in the AMS Mission Statement to "advance the status of the profession of mathematics, encouraging and facilitating full participation of all individuals," and urge all members to conduct their professional activities with this goal in mind.

Miscellaneous Information

The business of this committee can be done by email or videoconference.

Note to the Chair

Committee chairs should be informed, at the beginning of each fiscal period, of the budget of their committees and cautioned to remain within the budget. Such items as travel reimbursement, accommodations, and meals for guests of any kind fall within these budgets.

For the purpose of archiving the committee activities, the Secretary maintains a central file system for archiving committee records. Committee Chairs are asked to submit committee records on yearly basis. Chairs can submit material at their discretion, and some materials that they may wish to provide are meeting minutes, agenda, and emails. Confidential material should be noted, so that it can be handled in a confidential manner.


Past Members

1970   Garrett Birkhoff, C.C. Lin, Stanislaw M Ulam
1975   Gustav A Hedlund, Jurgen K Moser, Robert D Richtmyer
1980   George F Carrier, Elliott W Montroll, Ralph S Phillips
1985   Paul R Garadebian, Louis N Howard, Gerald B Whitham

A list of members from 1990 onward is available here:

Past Winners

AMS Prize Webpage