Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Maxime Bôcher

10. Maxime Bôcher

President, 1909–1910

Ph.D. University of Göttingen, Germany, 1891

Bôcher was interested in all aspects of the theory of ordinary linear differential equations. He was a founder and editor-in-chief of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society. The first award created by the AMS was the Bôcher Memorial Prize, which was established in 1923 and endowed by contributions from members of the Society. The US\$5,000 prize, awarded every three years, honors outstanding recent work in analysis. Bôcher was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Additional information