AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Ernest William Brown


13. Ernest William Brown (1866-1938)

President, 1915-1916

Sc.D. University of Cambridge, U.K., 1897

Brown, born in England, became internationally recognized as one of the premier mathematical astronomers of the time, contributing greatly to the theory of the moon's orbit, and to the more general field of celestial mechanics. He was professor of mathematics at Yale University from 1907 until his retirement in 1932. Brown was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society