Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Leonard Eugene Dickson

14. Leonard Eugene Dickson

President, 1917–1918

Ph.D. University of Chicago, Illinois, 1896

Dickson was known for his contributions to number theory and group theory. He served on the faculty at the University of Chicago, Illinois, from 1900 until his retirement in 1939. He was awarded the first AMS Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra in 1927 for his book Algebren und ihre Zahlentheorie (Orell Füssli, Zürich and Leipzig, 1927), and in 1923 was awarded the first American Association for the Advancement of Science Newcomb Cleveland Prize for outstanding contribution to science. Dickson was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Additional information