Important information regarding the recent AMS power outage.

The transformer that provides electricity to the AMS building in Providence went down on Sunday, April 22. The restoration of our email, website, AMS Bookstore and other systems is almost complete. We are currently running on a generator but overnight a new transformer should be hooked up and (fingers crossed) we should be fine by 8:00 (EDT) Wednesday morning. This issue has affected selected phones, which should be repaired by the end of today. No email was lost, although the accumulated messages are only just now being delivered so you should expect some delay.

Thanks for your patience.

AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Oswald Veblen


17. Oswald Veblen (1880-1960)

President, 1923-1924

Ph.D. University of Chicago, Illinois, 1903

Veblen did important research in the fields of foundations of geometry, projective geometry, topology, differential invariants, and spinors. He came to Princeton University in 1905. The Institute for Advanced Study (IAS) was founded in 1930, and when its School of Mathematics was established in 1932, Veblen was the first to be appointed as a professor. He was chiefly responsible for choosing the brilliant group of mathematicians who constituted the nucleus of the School: James Alexander, Albert Einstein, Marston Morse, John von Neumann, Hermann Weyl and Kurt Gödel. Three-year Veblen Research Instructorships, named in his honor, offer postdocs a year of research at the institute sandwiched between two years of teaching at Princeton University. As AMS president, Veblen oversaw a successful endowment campaign of 1923-26, after which he was appointed to oversee the establishment of the Society's Colloquium Publications (of which the first volume was published in 1927). He also notably assisted the Society with obtaining grants, which supported the Colloquium Publications. In 1961 the AMS established the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry in his honor. Veblen was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

  For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society