Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
John Emory McClintock

2. John Emory McClintock

President, 1891–1894

A.M. Columbia College, New York, New York, 1862; Hon. Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, 1884

McClintock was for many years the leading actuary in America, publishing 30 papers on the subject between 1868 and 1877. He published about 22 papers on mathematical topics as well. He is the only president of the Society to serve for four years. His was the first retiring presidential address, entitled "The past and future of the Society." He was also one of the founders of the Actuarial Society of America, in 1889.

Additional information