Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Marshall Harvey Stone

27. Marshall Harvey Stone

President 1943–1944

Ph.D. Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1926

Stone did research in a number of areas: self-adjoint operators in Hilbert space, spectral theory, and Boolean algebras. He proved a fundamental result now known as the Stone-Weierstrass theorem. His main academic appointments were at Harvard University (1927-1931 and 1933-1946) and at the University of Chicago (1947-1968). Stone also served as president of the International Mathematical Union (1952-1954) and president of the International Committee on Mathematics Instruction (1959-1962). Stone was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Additional information