AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

Joseph Leonard Walsh


30. Joseph Leonard Walsh (1895-1973)

President 1949-1950

Ph.D. Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, 1920

Walsh spent most of his career, from 1921 until his retirement in 1966, at Harvard University. His primary area of research was polynomial approximation. He taught a range of subjects including algebra, mechanics, differential equations, probability and number theory. After teaching at Harvard, he took an appointment at the University of Maryland. Walsh was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

   For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society