Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Abraham Adrian Albert

38. Abraham Adrian Albert

President 1965–1966

Ph.D. University of Chicago, Illinois, 1928

Albert's principal academic appointment was at the University of Chicago, where he served from 1931 until his death in 1972. From 1962 to 1971 he was dean of the Division of Physical Sciences. Throughout his life he served as chair of a number of committees that benefited the mathematics profession (at the National Science Foundation and International Mathematical Union, among others). His research was in the areas of associative algebras, non-associative algebras, and Riemann matrices.

Albert received the AMS Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra in 1939 for his papers on the construction of Riemann matrices published in the Annals of Mathematics, Series 2, volume 35 (1934) and volume 36 (1935). Albert was a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Additional information