AMS Presidents: A Timeline

AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

David Eisenbud


57. David Eisenbud (1947- )

President 2003-2004

Ph.D. University of Chicago, Illinois, 1969

Eisenbud taught at Brandeis University for twenty-seven years, with sabbatical time spent in Paris, Bonn, and Berkeley, and served as the Director of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute in Berkeley from 1997 to 2007. His field is commutative algebra and algebraic geometry; he has written several books and more than 100 publications on schemes, knots and links, primary decomposition of ideals, and computational methods. Eisenbud is a Fellow of the AMS.


 For more information:



AMS Presidents: A Timeline home page

American Mathematical Society