Skip to Main Content
AMS Presidents
Robert BryantPhoto courtesy Duke Photography, Les Todd, photographer

63. Robert L. Bryant

President 2015–2016

Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1979

Bryant is a leading researcher in nonlinear partial differential equations and differential geometry with a long record of service to the community. He is a Fellow of the AMS (2013), a member of the National Academy of Sciences (2007), a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (2002), and a former director of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute (MSRI) from 2007–2013.

Before becoming Director of MSRI, he had been Chair of MSRI’s board, and had served as Director of the Park City Mathematics Institute. Bryant is interested in the geometry of partial differential equations and more specifically, conservation laws for PDEs, Finsler geometry, calibrations, holonomy, and Seiberg-Witten invariants and symplectic geometry. In addition to authoring books and papers in the field, he has organized or co-organized conferences, workshops and colloquia, and has been an invited speaker at international meetings.

Additional information