Daniel J. Curtin* (curtin@nku.edu), Northern Kentucky University, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Highland Heights, KY 41099. The Kentucky Section of the MAA: 1917-2013.

The Mathematics Section of the Association of Kentucky Colleges and Universities was founded in 1909. In May 1916 it was decided to apply to become a Section of the new MAA. This admission was accepted in February of 1917 and the first meeting of the new Kentucky section was held at Berea College that May. Since then the section has been very active- with annual spring meetings and rare fall meetings. Speakers have come from both private and public institutions, and many nationally known mathematicians have given invited addresses. Women have been very active. Elizabeth LeSturgeon was Chairman in 1923 and our second section governor was Aughtum Howard in 1951. There has also been active participation by African-American mathematicians. In the late 1930s several Jewish mathematicians found refuge in Kentucky and participated in section meetings. Mathematicians of all types have given talks and participated in panels throughout the history of the section. (Received September 21, 2012)