## NOTES.

A REGULAR meeting of the AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY was held in New York on Saturday afternoon, January 30, 1897, the Vice-President, Professor R. S. Woodward, in the chair. There were nine members present. On the recommendation of the Council the following persons, nominated at the preceding meeting, were elected to membership: Professor William Weidman Landis, Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa.; Dr. Isabel Maddison, Bryn Mawr College, Byrn Mawr, Pa.; Professor Charles Lewis Thornburg, Lehigh University, South Bethlehem, Pa.; Miss Mary Frances Winston, St. Joseph High School, St. Joseph, Mo. Nine nominations for membership were received. The report of the committee appointed to audit the Treasurer's accounts for 1896 was presented and accepted.

Resolutions in memory of the late Vice-President of the Society, Professor H. A. Newton, were presented by the Council and adopted by the Society.

The following papers were read:

(1) Professor Charlotte Angas Scott: "On Cayley's theory of the absolute."

- (2) Dr. G. A. MILLER: "On the transitive substitution groups whose orders are the products of three prime factors." (Communicated to the Society through Professor Fiske.)
  - (3) Professor E. D. Roe: "On two developments."
- (4) Professor Thomas S. Fiske: "Note on the integration of a uniformly convergent series through an infinite interval."

In the absence of Professor Roe his paper was read by the Secretary.

In response to a call issued by several members of the American Mathematical Society, resident in or near Chicago, a mathematical conference was held in the University of Chicago, December 31, 1896, and January 1, 1897. There were two sessions daily, at 10 a. m. and 2:30 p. m. respectively. Professor E. H. Moore occupied the chair, and Dr. E. M. Blake acted as secretary. Among those in attendance were the following members of the Society: Dr. E. M. Blake, Professor Chas. H. Chandler, Professor Ellery W. Davis, Dr. Harris Hancock, Professor T. F. Holgate, Professor H. Maschke, Professor Thomas E. McKinney, Professor M. McNeill, Professor E. H. Moore, Professor H. B. Newson, Professor P. H. Philbrick, Professor James B. Shaw, Professor Edgar J. Townsend, Miss Estella K.

Wentz, Professor Henry S. White, Miss Mary F. Winston, Dr. J. W. A. Young, Professor Alexander Ziwet.

A resolution was adopted that, in the opinion of the Conference, it was desirable for the members of the American Mathematical Society to hold in Chicago at least two meetings a year for the reading and discussion of mathematical papers, one during the Christmas vacation and one in the spring.

Professor H. S. White, Dr. E. M. Blake and Dr. J. W. A. Young were appointed a committee to make the necessary arrangements for a meeting to be held in the spring of 1897.

897.

The following papers were read:

- (1.) Linear euthymorphic functions of the first order. Dr. E. M. BLAKE.
- (2.) A geometrical picture of the "fifteen school girl" problem. Professor Ellery W. Davis.
- (3.) Questions on the theory of substitution groups. Professor Ellery W. Davis.
- (4.) Construction of conics from imaginary elements. Professor T. F. Holgate.
  - (5.) The projective group. Professor H. B. Newson.
- (6.) The reduction of Kronecker's modular systems. Dr. Harris Hancock.
  - (7.) Theory of continuity. Professor James B. Shaw.
- (8.) Circular transformations. Dr. Arnold Emch. (Presented by Professor H. B. Newson.)
- (9.) On series of sum-totients. Professor D. N. Lehmer. (Presented by Professor Ellery W. Davis.)
- (10.) Transformation of homogeneous differential expressions. Professor H. MASCHKE.
- (11.) Concerning the abstract group of order k, holoedrically isomorphic with the symmetric substitution group of k letters. Professor E. H. Moore.
- (12.) Synthesis of primitive regular reticulations. Professor Henry S. White.
- (13.) Note on the theory of hypergeometric functions. Miss Mary F. Winston.
- (14.) The cubic resolvent of a binary quartic derived (after Hilbert) by invariantive process. Professor Henry S. White.