## NOTES

At the meeting of the Division of Physical Sciences of the National Research Council in Washington on April 23, the following officers were elected for the year beginning June, 1922: Chairman, William Duane; Secretary, W. E. Tisdale; Executive Committee, G. D. Birkhoff, William Bowie, C. E. Mendenhall, A. Trowbridge. The following persons were elected members-at-large: G. A. Bliss, F. A. Saunders, A. Trowbridge. New members representing scientific societies were announced as follows: for the American Astronomical Society, E. B. Frost; for the American Mathematical Society, C. N. Haskins; for the American Physical Society, H. G. Gale and C. E. Mendenhall.

The annual meeting of the National Council of Mathematics Teachers was held at Chicago on March 1, 1922, in connection with the meeting of the Department of Superintendence of the National Education Association. A number of papers were read, dealing with the teaching of secondary mathematics.

Professor W. F. Osgood and G. D. Birkhoff have been elected corresponding members of the Göttingen Academy of Sciences.

Professor M. Planck has been elected a foreign member of the Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Professor A. Gutzmer has been elected president of the Leopoldinisch-Carolinische Akademie der Naturforscher, as successor to Professor A. Wangerin, who has resigned. Professors H. Hahn and R. Schüssler have been elected members of this Academy.

Professor E. I. Fredholm, of the University of Stockholm, has been elected correspondent of the Paris Academy of Sciences in the section of geometry, as successor to the late Professor H. A. Schwarz.

Requests to authors of mathematical works for reprints have been sent by L'Istituto Matematico della R. Università di Bologna.

Cambridge University has awarded a Rayleigh prize to T. A. Brown, of Trinity College, for an essay On a class of factorial series.

The honorary degree of doctor of science has been conferred on Sir Thomas Muir by the University of Cape Town, in recognition of his researches in mathematics and the history of mathematics.

Professor A. S. Eddington has been elected president of the Royal Astronomical Society.

In connection with the announcement of the distribution of reprints of articles by the late Professor Maxime Bôcher (this Bulletin, vol. 28

- (1922), p. 74), it is stated that the reprints available, numbered as in this Bulletin, vol. 25 (1919), p. 209, are as follows: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 12, 16, 17, 18, 21, 23, 25, 26, 30–34, 36–42, 48, 51, 52, 53, 56, 59, 60, 63, 64, 66–69, 74, 78, 79, 83, 84, 85, 87–92, 97, 99, 100. Reprints will be sent, while the supply lasts, to those applying by number for the ones desired to Professor O. D. Kellogg, 20 Craigie St., Cambridge 38, Mass. The recipient will be expected to defray mailing costs; no other charge will be made except for No. 67, Introduction to the Theory of Fourier Series (\$0.75) and No. 99, Leçons sur les Méthodes de Sturm (\$1.25).
- Professor G. D. Birkhoff will deliver four lectures on the theory of relativity, and four lectures on the problem of three bodies, at Stanford University during the latter part of June, 1922.
- Dr. H. Brandt, of the Karlsruhe Technical School, has been appointed to a professorship at the Technical School at Aachen.
- Dr. W. Schmeidler, of the University of Kiel, has been appointed to a professorship at the Breslau Technical School.
- Dr. O. Szàsz has been promoted to an associate professorship at the University of Frankfurt a. M.
- Dr. F. Bernstein has been promoted to a full professorship at the University of Göttingen.
- Professor J. Radon, of the University of Hamburg, has been appointed full professor of mathematics at the University of Greifswald.
- Dr. G. Prange, of the University of Halle, has been appointed to a full professorship at the Hannover Technical School.
- Professor F. Noether has been appointed associate professor of applied mathematics at the University of Heidelberg.
- Dr. Pohlhausen has been promoted to an associate professorship of applied mathematics at the University of Rostock.
- At the Stuttgart Technical School, Dr. K. Kommerell has been promoted to an associate professorship, and Dr. F. Pfeiffer, of the University of Heidelberg, has been appointed full professor.
- Dr. R. König has been promoted to a full professorship of mathematics at the University of Tübingen.

In the Faculty of Sciences of the University of Paris, Professor P. Montel has been appointed to the professorship of general mathematics, and Professor Leduc to the professorship of theoretical physics, as successors, respectively, to Professors J. Drach and E. Cotton, called to other professorships in the same faculty. The title of the chair of "differential and integral calculus" has been changed to "the theory of groups and the calculus of variations."

- Mr. A. L. Dixon, fellow and tutor of Merton College, has been appointed Wayneflete professor of pure mathematics at Oxford University, as successor to Professor E. B. Elliott.
- Dr. G. B. Jeffery has been appointed to the University chair of mathematics at King's College, London University.
- Professor W. F. Osgood has been appointed acting dean of the graduate school of arts and sciences at Harvard University for the second half of the present academic year.
- At the University of Rochester, Professor A. S. Gale has been appointed Freshman Dean.
- At Yale University, Assistant Professor Leigh Page, of the department of physics, has been promoted to a full professorship of the mathematical sciences, with assignment to the Sheffield Scientific School. Dr. W. L. Crum has been promoted to an assistant professorship of mathematics. Professor L. S. Hill, of the University of Maine, has been appointed instructor in mathematics.
- Dr. E. B. Wilson, professor of mathematical physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been appointed professor of vital statistics at Harvard University.
- Assistant Professor C. G. P. Kuschke has been promoted to be full professor and head of the department of mathematics at the University of Porto Rico.
- At the University of Kansas, for the year 1920–21, Dr. U. G. Mitchell was advanced to a full professorship and Dr. Guy Smith was appointed assistant professor; for the year 1921–22, Dr. E. B. Stouffer was advanced to a full professorship.
- Dr. H. C. M. Morse and Dr. W. L. G. Williams have been promoted to assistant professorships at Cornell University.
- Professor G. Kohn, of the University of Vienna, died December 15, 1921, at the age of sixty-two years.
- Professor E. Jahnke, of the Berlin Technical School, died October 18, 1921, at the age of fifty-eight years.
- Professor L. Koenigsberger, of the University of Heidelberg, died December 15, 1921, at the age of eighty-three years.
- Professor M. Noether, of the University of Erlangen, died December 13, 1921, at the age of seventy-seven years.
- Dr. G. B. Mathews, formerly professor of mathematics at the University College of North Wales, died March 19, 1922, at the age of sixty-one years.