FORMER PRESIDENTS

J. H. Van Amringe, 1889–1890, Emory McClintock, 1891–1894, G. W. Hill, 1895–1896, Simon Newcomb, 1897–1898, R. S. Woodward, 1899–1900, E. H. Moore, 1901–1902, T. S. Fiske, 1903–1904, W. F. Osgood, 1905–1906, H. S. White, 1907–1908, Virgil Snyder,

Maxime Bôcher, 1909–1910, H. B. Fine, 1911–1912, E. W. Brown, 1915–1916, Frank Morley, 1919–1920, G. A. Bliss, 1921–1922, Oswald Veblen, 1923–1924, G. D. Birkhoff, 1925–1926,

PRIZE FUNDS

THE BÔCHER MEMORIAL PRIZE.

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis published during the preceding five years in some journal on the editorial board of which the Society is represented; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and to Solomon Lefschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J. W. Alexander, for his memoir Combinatorial analysis situs.

THE FRANK NELSON COLE PRIZE IN ALGEBRA.
THE FRANK NELSON COLE PRIZE IN THE THEORY OF NUMBERS.

These prizes were founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole, on the occasion of his retirement as Secretary of the American Mathematical Society and editor of the *Bulletin*, after twenty-five years of service; the fund was later doubled by his son, Charles A. Cole. They are to be awarded at five year intervals for contributions to algebra and the theory of numbers, respectively, under restrictions similar to those for the Bôcher prize.

First Award, 1928: To L. E. Dickson, for his book Algebre nund thre Zahlentheorie, Zurich, 1927.

THE ELIAKIM HASTINGS MOORE FUND.

This fund was founded in 1922 in honor of Professor Eliakim Hastings Moore, on the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary meeting of the Chicago Section of the American Mathematical Society. The interest on the fund is to be used at the discretion of the Council of the Society, for the publication of important mathematical books or memoirs or the award of prizes.