THE APRIL MEETING IN NEW YORK

The two hundred eighty-eighth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at Columbia University, on Friday and Saturday, April 3-4, 1931. The attendance included the following one hundred forty-one members of the Society:

C. R. Adams, R. B. Adams, R. P. Agnew, A. A. Albert, R. A. Arms, N. H. Ball, T. C. Benton, Wilhelm Blaschke, H. F. Blichfeldt, Bertha Boschwitz, Paul Bradt, A. B. Brown, B. L. Brown, L. H. Bunyan, S. S. Cairns, R. H. Cameron, E. T. Carroll, G. G. Chambers, Alonzo Church, W. R. Church, R. P. Conkling, H. R. Cooley, L. P. Copeland, E. H. Cutler, Tobias Dantzig, Edgar Dehn, E. C. Doak, H. L. Dorwart, Jesse Douglas, Lillian Dundes, L. P. Eisenhart, Arne Fisher, T. S. Fiske, W. B. Fite, Edward Fleisher, W. W. Flexner, Tomlinson Fort, A. L. Foster, R. M. Foster, Philip Franklin, Orrin Frink, K. G. Fuller, B. P. Gill, D. C. Gillespie, Eli Gourin, H. S. Grant, C. H. Graves, C. C. Grove, F. C. Hall, G. A. Hedlund, L. S. Hill, Einar Hille, A. A. Himwich, Lulu Hofmann, T. R. Hollcroft, W. G. Hubert, J. C. Hughes, R. L. Jeffery, S. A. Joffe, R. A. Johnson, F. E. Johnston, E. G. Keller, L. S. Kennison, E. A. Kholodovsky, B. F. Kimball, M. S. Knebelman, P. A. Knedler, Mark Kormes, A. M. M. Lehr, S. A. Lepeshkin, Jakob Levitzki, S. B. Littauer, Marie Litzinger, E. O. McCormick, E. J. McShane, L. A. MacColl, W. A. Manning, A. E. Meder, F. H. Miller, H. H. Mitchell, Morris Monsky, L. T. Moore, Richard Morris, David Moskovitz, C. A. Nelson, Philip Newman, C. O. Oakley, Oystein Ore, F. W. Owens, L. J. Paradiso, J. K. Peterson, G. A. Pfeiffer, H. R. Phalen, Hillel Poritsky, E. L. Post, R. G. Putnam, H. W. Reddick, L. H. Rice, R. G. D. Richardson, J. F. Ritt, H. P. Robertson, Robin Robinson, H. A. Ruger, S. A. Schelkunoff, H. M. Schlauch, J. A. Schouten, C. H. W. Sedgwick, C. E. Seely, Wladimir Seidel, Casper Shanok, I. M. Sheffer, L. P. Siceloff, L. L. Silverman, L. G. Simons, James Singer, L. L. Smail, C. E. Smith, P. A. Smith, A. H. Sprague, M. E. Stark, D. J. Struik, J. D. Tamarkin, J. H. Taylor, J. M. Thomas, T. Y. Thomas, J. E. Thompson, C. C. Torrance, A. W. Tucker, Annita Tuller, R. N. Van Arnam, J. L. Vanderslice, Oswald Veblen, Louis Weisner, A. P. Wheeler, R. A. Whelan, H. S. White, G. T. Whyburn, D. V. Widder, W. A. Wilson, H. M. Wright, Oscar Zariski.

A meeting of the Council of the Society was held on the evening of April 3, and various items of business transacted were announced to the Society.

The Secretary announced the election of the following nine persons to membership in the Society:

Miss Beatrice Aitchison, Johns Hopkins University; Mr. Edwin Ford Beckenbach, Rice Institute; Professor Wilhelm Blaschke, University of Hamburg; Professor Clark M. Cleveland, University of Texas; Mr. Charles Hewitt Dix, Rice Institute; Professor Jan A. Schouten, University of Delft; Mr. Casper Shanok, New Haven; Professor Ruth W. Stokes, Winthrop College; Miss Marian A. Wilder, University of Minnesota.

The following appointments were announced: to represent the Society at the inauguration of Harry Woodburn Chase as President of the University of Illinois on May 1, 1931, Vice-President E. P. Lane; as additional members of the Committee on the Cole Prize, Professors R. D. Carmichael and G. H. Hardy.

It was decided to omit the February and April meetings in New York City during 1932 and to have only one meeting, this to be held during the Easter recess on March 25 and 26.

The Council authorized an active campaign to increase the membership in the Society.

On Friday afternoon, Professor J. A. Schouten, of the University of Delft, delivered an address on A revision of the theory of curvature of a V_m in V_n . This address was followed by a general session of the Society, at which several papers were read. Saturday morning and part of Saturday afternoon were devoted to a symposium on the theory of groups, at which the following addresses were read: Linear groups, by Professor H. F. Blichfeldt, of Stanford University; The primitive permutation groups, by Professor W. A. Manning, of Stanford University; The Schreier theory of continuous groups, by Professor Wilhelm Blaschke, of the University of Hamburg. The program of the Saturday afternoon session also included an address by Professor Harald Bohr, of the University of Copenhagen, On Dirichlet series and power series with infinitely many variables. President Eisenhart presided at these three sessions.

On Friday morning the Society met in two sections for the presentation of short papers. The titles and cross references to the abstracts of the papers read at these sessions, and at the general session on Friday afternoon after the address by Professor Schouten, follow below; papers whose abstract numbers are followed by the letter t were read by title. The papers numbered 1 to 5 were read before the section of Analysis, Professor

Tamarkin presiding, those numbered 6 to 20 before the section of Algebra and Geometry, Professor Hollcroft presiding, and those numbered 21 to 23 at the general session. Mr. Myers was introduced by Professor Marston Morse, Mr. Doob by Professor J. L. Walsh, and Professor Vaidyanathaswami by Professor A. J. Kempner.

- 1. Volterra integral equations of the first kind, by Professor R. L. Jeffery. (Abstract No. 37-5-172.)
- 2. On analytic functions with infinitely many zeros, by Dr. Wladimir Seidel (National Research Fellow). (Abstract No. 37-5-173.)
- 3. Linear q-difference equations of continuous order. Preliminary report, by Dr. L. S. Kennison. (Abstract No. 37-5-174.)
- 4. Adjoint systems in the problem of Mayer under general end conditions, by Mr. S. B. Myers. (Abstract No. 37-5-175.)
- 5. The boundary values of an analytic function, by Mr. J. L. Doob. (Abstract No. 37-5-176.)
- 6. On plane Cremona triadic characteristics, by Mr. C. C. Torrance. (Abstract No. 37-3-141.)
- 7. On the differential geometry of surfaces in non-euclidean space, by Dr. Robin Robinson. (Abstract No. 37-5-177.)
- 8. On a certain inequality of Steiner, by Dr. E. J. McShane (National Research Fellow). (Abstract No. 37-5-178.)
- 9. Semi-linear equations. Part I: Regular polygons, by Professor C. O. Oakley. (Abstract No. 37-5-179.)
- 10. On normal products of algebras, by Dr. Jakob Levitzki. (Abstract No. 37-5-180.)
- 11. On the irregularity of cyclic multiple planes, by Dr. Oscar Zariski. (Abstract No. 37-5-181.)
- 12. On illusory Plückerian characters, by Dr. Oscar Zariski. (Abstract No. 37-5-182.)
- 13. Pfaffians in parametric form, by Professors C. L. E. Moore and Philip Franklin. (Abstract No. 37-3-136-t.)
- 14. The geometric interpretation of some elementary formulas of analytic geometry, by Professor Philip Franklin. (Abstract No. 37-3-139-t.)
- 15. Regions of positive and negative curvature on closed surfaces, by Professor Philip Franklin. (Abstract No. 37-3-137-t.)

- 16. Two functional equations with integral arguments, by Professor Philip Franklin. (Abstract No. 37-3-138-t.)
- 17. A geometric theory of solution of linear inequalities, by Professor Ruth W. Stokes. (Abstract No. 37-3-140-t.)
- 18. On equivalence of methods of evaluation of sequences, by Dr. R. P. Agnew (National Research Fellow). (Abstract No. 37-5-183-t.)
- 19. The theory of multiplicative arithmetic functions, by Professor R. Vaidyanathaswami. (Abstract No. 37-5-184-t.)
- 20. The Koebe mapping theorem and the problem of Plateau, by Professor Jesse Douglas. (Abstract No. 37-5-185-t.)
- 21. Geodesics of Pfaffians, by Professors C. L. E. Moore and Philip Franklin. (Abstract No. 37-3-135.)
- 22. Systems of algebraic differential equations, by Professor J. F. Ritt. (Abstract No. 37-5-186.)
- 23. Certain types of criteria for irreducibility of polynomials, by Mr. H. L. Dorwart and Professor Oystein Ore. (Abstract No. 37-5-187.)

Tomlinson Fort,
Associate Secretary