NOTES

A new journal, Scripta Mathematica, devoted to the history and philosophy of mathematics, has been established under the auspices of Yeshiva College, New York City; Professor Jekuthiel Ginsburg, of that College, is editor-inchief. The editorial board includes also R. C. Archibald, L. C. Karpinski, C. J. Keyser, Gino Loria, Vera Sanford, Lao G. Simons, and D. E. Smith.

The Annali della Reale Scuola Normale Superiore di Pisa announces the following subjects for a prize memoir, to be submitted before June 15, 1934: a brief summary of the theory of partial differential equations of elliptic and parabolic type; a brief summary of the theory of analytic functions of several complex variables and of important special classes of such functions. Competing memoirs should be unpublished, written in Italian, French, English, or German, and not longer than the equivalent of thirty quarto printed pages. The prize memoir will be printed in Italian in the Annali.

The Lazzaro Fubini prize for 1932 has been awarded to Dr. Tullio Viola, of the University of Bologna, for several memoirs and notes, including a memoir Sui diagrammi reciproci del Cremona and several papers on unilateral continuity and derivatives. An additional prize was awarded from the same foundation to Dr. Mario Villa, of the University of Pavia, for his work in algebraic geometry.

The Henry Draper medal of the National Academy of Sciences has been awarded to Dr. V. M. Slipher, astronomer of the Lowell Observatory, Flagstaff, Arizona.

Professor U. Amaldi, of the University of Rome, has been elected a corresponding member of the Pontifical Academy of Sciences.

Professor Albert Einstein has received an honorary doctorate from the University of Glasgow.

Professors B. Finzi, of the University of Milan, and R. Serini, of the University of Pavia, have been elected corresponding members of the Reale Istituto Lombardo.

Professor Jules Haag, of Besançon, has been elected correspondent of the Paris Academy of Sciences in the section of mechanics, as successor to Professor H. Villat, of the Sorbonne, elected a member of the Academy in the same section.

The University of Paris has conferred an honorary doctorate on Professor Tullio Levi-Civita, of the University of Rome.

Professor J. A. Schouten of Delft has been elected a member of the Royal Society of Amsterdam (Koninklijke Akcademie van Wetenschappen, Amsterdam).

Professor A. Signorini, of the University of Naples, has been elected a resident member of the Royal Society of Naples, and Professor M. Pascal a corresponding member.

At the April meeting of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, Professors G. C. Evans, of Rice Institute, and J. F. Ritt, of Columbia University, were elected members of the Academy. At this meeting the following mathematical papers were read: *Geometry of the Laplace equation*, by Professor Edward Kasner; *The geometry of spinors*, by Professor Oswald Veblen.

Professors Jesse Douglas and M. H. Stone have been elected fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professor E. V. Huntington, of Harvard University, has been elected a member of the American Philosophical Society, and Professor Max Planck, of Berlin, a foreign non-resident member.

Professor W. H. Roever, of Washington University, has received a grant from the Rockefeller Science Research Fund for the publication of some of his work in descriptive geometry. Part of this work was done for the Committee on Standards for Graphical Presentation, on which Professor Roever served as representative of the American Mathematical Society.

Dr. M. F. Deuring and Mr. Saunders MacLane have been awarded Sterling fellowships in mathematics at Yale.

Professor Enea Bortolotti, of the University of Cagliari, has been promoted to a professorship of analytical geometry.

Dr. Fritz Lettenmeyer has been promoted to an associate professorship of mathematics at the University of Munich.

Professor Theodor Vahlen, of the Vienna Technical School, has been appointed professor of mathematics at the University of Greifswald.

On the occasion of the visit of Professor Neils Bohr to Pasadena in May, the department of physics of the California Institute of Technology conducted a symposium on the general subject of the physics of nuclei and high energy transformations. Professor Bohr delivered a series of lectures on the foundations of atomic mechanics.

Dr. H. F. Bohnenblust has been appointed assistant professor of mathematics at Princeton.

Professor R. L. Wilder, of the University of Michigan, has been granted leave of absence for the coming academic year, for research at the Institute for Advanced Study.

The following appointments to instructorships in mathematics are announced:

Harvard University: Mr. Douglas P. Adams; Mr. Donald H. Ballou; Dr. Albert E. Currier (Benjamin Peirce Instructor); Mr. John H. Curtiss; Mr. Thomas L. Downs, Jr.; Mr. Walter Leighton, Jr.; Mr. Zehman I. Mosesson; Mr. Arthur Sard; Dr. Wladimir Seidel (Benjamin Peirce Instructor); Mr. Frederick H. Steen; Mr. George B. VanSchaack; Dr. Hassler Whitney.

Princeton University: Dr. E. J. McShane; Dr. A. W. Tucker.