NOTES

NOTES

The editors of the Annals of Mathematics desire to secure the following numbers of that journal: vol. 1, No. 1; vol. 2, Nos. 1, 3; vol. 3, Nos. 2–4; vol. 4, No. 1.

A new mathematical journal entitled the Revue Mathématique de l'Union Interbalkanique is now being published in Athens. The first number appeared in November, 1936.

The Adams Prize at the University of Cambridge is open to the competition of all persons who have at any time been admitted to a degree at the University. The subject proposed for the period 1937–38 is the distributional properties of functions of statistical variables.

The Royal Society of London has awarded a Royal Medal to R. H. Fowler for his work in statistical mechanics and allied departments of modern mathematical physics.

One of the Townsend Harris Prizes of the College of the City of New York has been awarded to Professor Edward Kasner, of Columbia University, for his achievements in the field of mathematics.

Professor Felix de Roy, president of the commission on meteorites, zodiacal light, and related phenomena, and director of the Variable Star section of the British Astronomical Association, was recently honored with the degree of Doctor of Mathematics and Physics by the University of Utrecht in recognition of his astronomical work. This honor was conferred in connection with the celebration of the tercentenary of that university.

Dean G. D. Birkhoff, of Harvard University, has been selected by Pope Pius as a member of the newly formed Pontifical Academy of Sciences composed of seventy world-famed scientists. Members were chosen solely for their outstanding scientific achievement.

Professor Richard Becker, of the Berlin Technical School, has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Göttingen.

The title of emeritus professor of statistics in the University of London has been conferred on Professor A. L. Bowley, on his retirement from the University chair of statistics at the London School of Economics.

Professor S. Chapman, of the Imperial College of Science, has been elected a member of the Kaiserlich Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher, Halle, in recognition of his researches in terrestrial magnetism.

Professor R. A. Fisher, Galton Professor of Eugenics at University College, London, is a visiting professor at the University of California for the academic year, 1936–37.

NOTES

Dr. L. W. Nordheim, formerly lecturer in theoretical physics at the University of Göttingen, is visiting professor at Purdue University for this academic year.

Mr. Daniel Pedoe, last year at the Institute for Advanced Study, has been appointed Demonstrator at University College, Southampton, England.

Dr. W. G. Penney, Stokes student at Pembroke College, Cambridge, has been appointed reader in mathematics in the Imperial College, Royal College of Science.

Professor Erhard Tornier, of the University of Göttingen, has been appointed professor of applied mathematics at the University of Berlin.

At the Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College Associate Professors E. F. Allen and W. V. N. Garretson have been promoted to professorships. Dr. L. S. Stephens has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Assistant Professor H. E. Arnold, of Wesleyan University, Middletown, Conn., has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor Samuel Beatty, of the University of Toronto, has been appointed dean of the faculty of arts at that institution.

Dr. H. C. Carter, of the University of Missouri, has been appointed to a professorship at State Teachers College, Fredericksburg, Va.

Dr. H. S. M. Coxeter, of Washington, D. C., has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Toronto.

Dr. James Fisher has been appointed dean of the faculty of the Michigan College of Mining and Technology, Houghton, Mich. Dr. Fisher, who is head of the department of mathematics and physics, has been associated with the teaching staff since 1896.

Dr. Frances Harshbarger, of Kent State University, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. C. F. Luther, of Stanford University, has been appointed to an associate professorship at Willamette University.

The retirement of Professor M. A. MacKenzie, of the University of Toronto, is announced.

Emeritus Professor W. D. Macmillan, of the University of Chicago, has been appointed to a lectureship at Northwestern University for the first semester of this year.

Dr. R. S. Martin, last year at the Institute for Advanced Study, has been appointed an associate at the University of Illinois for the academic year 1936–37.

Dr. R. L. Mennet, professor of mathematics at Tulane University, has been appointed acting president of the university for the academic year.

Associate Professor R. M. Peters, of Judson College, Alabama, has been appointed to a professorship in mathematics and physics at Lake Erie College.

Assistant Professor G. E. Raynor, of Lehigh University, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. Robin Robinson, of Dartmouth College, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Professor T. R. Running, of the University of Michigan, is retiring from active teaching in February, 1937.

Assistant Professor N. E. Rutt, of Northwestern University, has been appointed to an associate professorship at Louisiana State University.

Assistant Professor C. A. Shook, of Lehigh University, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor W. G. Simon, of Adelbert College and Western Reserve University, has been elected dean of the faculties of arts and sciences for Adelbert and Mather Colleges and the Graduate School of Western Reserve University.

Dr. A. J. Smith, of the University of Pennsylvania, has been appointed professor of mathematics at Susquehanna College, Selinsgrove, Pa.

The retirement on July 1, 1936, of Professor P. F. Smith, of Yale University, is announced.

The following members of the American Mathematical Society are in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study this academic year on leave of absence from their respective institutions: Professor J. H. Bartlett, of the University of Illinois; Professor S. S. Cairns, of Lehigh University; Professor W. L. Duren, of Tulane University; Dr. P. W. Ketchum, of the University of Illinois; Professor E. J. Moulton, of Northwestern University; Professor F. D. Murnaghan, of Johns Hopkins University; Dr. Walter Prenowitz, of Brooklyn College; Dr. J. F. Randolph, of Cornell University; Professor M. H. Stone, of Harvard University; and Professor J. M. Thomas, of Duke University.

The following mathematicians from foreign universities are also in residence at the Institute: Professor Péi-Yüan Chou, of the National Tsing Hua University, Peiping, China; Professor G. H. Hardy, of Trinity College, England; Dr. Witold Hurewicz, of the University of Amsterdam, Holland; Dr. Leopold Infeld, of the University of Lwow, Poland; Professor Tsai-Han Kiang, of the National University of Peking, China; Professor Tullio Levi-Civita, of the University of Rome.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: University of Michigan: Dr. S. B. Myers, Mr. M. E. Shanks; Ohio University: Mr. Carl Denbow; Pennsylvania State College: Dr. Aline H. Frink; Pennsylvania State College, Hazelton Extension Center: Mr. Coleman Herpel; Tulane University: Dr. Charles Hopkins.

Mr. C. E. Haselfoot, fellow of Hertford College, Oxford, and formerly

lecturer in mathematics in Wadham College, died on October 28, 1936, at the age of eighty-two years.

The death of Mr. C. M. Biscay, of the Western and Southern Life Insurance Company, is announced. He had been a nominee of the company since 1927.

The death of Mrs. M. H. Carus, of La Salle, Ill., is reported.

The death of Professor N. A. Patillo, of Randolph Macon College, is reported.