FORMER PRESIDENTS

J. H. Van Amringe, 1889-1890.
Emory McClintock, 1891-1894.
G. W. Hill, 1895-1896.
Simon Newcomb, 1897-1898.
R. S. Woodward, 1899-1900.
E. H. Moore, 1901-1902.
T. S. Fiske, 1903-1904.
W. F. Osgood, 1905-1906.
H. S. White, 1907-1908.
Maxime Böcher, 1909-1910.
H. B. Fine, 1911-1912.
E. B. Van Vleck, 1913-1914.

E. W. Brown, 1915-1916.
L. E. Dickson, 1917-1918.
Frank Morley, 1919-1920.
G. A. Bliss, 1921-1922.
Oswald Veblen, 1923-1924.
G. D. Birkhoff, 1925-1926.
Virgil Snyder, 1927-1928.
E. R. Hedrick, 1929-1930.
L. P. Eisenhart, 1931-1932.
A. B. Coble, 1933-1934.
Solomon Lefschetz, 1935-1936.

ENDOWMENT FUND

In 1923 an Endowment Fund was collected for the support of the ever increasing number of important mathematical memoirs. Of this fund, which now amounts to some \$70,000, a considerable proportion was contributed by members of the Society.

PRIZE FUNDS

The Bôcher Memorial Prize.

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and to Solomon Lefschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J. W. Alexander, for his memoir Combinatorial analysis situs.

Fourth Award, 1933: To Marston Morse, for his memoir The foundations of a theory of the calculus of variations in the large in m-space, and to Norbert Wiener, for his memoir Tauberian theorems.

The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra. The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in the Theory of Numbers.

These prizes were founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole, on the occasion of his retirement as Secretary of the American Mathematical Society and editor of the Bulletin, after twenty-five years of service; the fund was later doubled by his son, Charles A. Cole. They are to be awarded at five-year intervals for contributions to algebra and the theory of numbers, respectively, under restrictions similar to those for the Bôcher prize.

First Award, 1928: To L. E. Dickson, for his book Algebren und ihre Zahlentheorie, Zurich, 1927.

Second Award, 1931: To H. S. Vandiver, for his several papers on Fermat's last theorem published in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society and the Annals of Mathematics during the last five years, with special reference to a paper entitled *On Fermat's last theorem*, which appeared in volume 31 of the Transactions.

The Eliakim Hastings Moore Fund.

This fund was founded in 1922 in honor of Professor Eliakim Hastings Moore, on the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary meeting of the Chicago Section of the American Mathematical Society. The interest on the fund is to be used at the discretion of the Council of the Society, for the publication of important mathematical books or memoirs or the award of prizes.

The Marion Reilly Fund.

Dean Marion Reilly willed to the American Mathematical Society a portion of her estate to be used for the advancement of research in pure mathematics. Thus far the Society has received approximately \$14,000. The estate is not entirely settled, and the Society will receive additional funds within the next few years.

SELECTIONS FROM THE TABLE OF LIFE MEMBERSHIP FEES

(Rates for other years may be obtained from the Treasurer.)

Fee	Age		Fee
 \$143.37	55		\$94.36
 137.93	60		82.74
 131.48	65		70.71
 123.88	70		58.81
 115.13	75		47.56
 105.24	80	•••••	37.44
	Fee \$143.37 137.93 131.48 123.88 115.13 105.24	Fce Age \$143.37 55	Fee Age \$143.37 55