NOTES

NOTES

Two new volumes have recently appeared in the series American Mathematical Society Colloquium Publications. Volume 23 is *Orthogonal Polynomials* by Professor Gabor Szegö of Stanford University. This book consists of 10+401 pages and the list price is \$6.00. Volume 24 is *Structure of Algebras* by Professor A. A. Albert of the University of Chicago. This volume consists of 12+210 pages and the list price is \$4.00. Both of these volumes may be obtained from the New York office of the Society. A discount of twenty-five per cent is allowed to members.

The University of Toronto has decided to sponsor a series of books under the title *Mathematical Expositions*. The first concern of each author will be to present his subject matter in readable form while supplying the natural background and calling attention to significant ideas. Each volume will run to about 125 pages. The first two will deal with the *Foundations of Geometry* and the *Infinite in Mathematics*. It is expected that one of these will appear by the end of the present year. Arrangements have been made for the preparation of certain other volumes. It is hoped that the price will not be more than \$2.00 with a reduction of twenty-five per cent to members of the American Mathematical Society.

Applications are being received for Benjamin Peirce Instructorships in Mathematics at Harvard University for the academic year 1940–41. Candidates should ordinarily have the doctorate or its equivalent. Applications should be sent to, and further information may be received from, the Chairman of the Department of Mathematics.

Yale University offers each year a number of Sterling research fellowships, some of them open to mathematicians. For the year 1940–41 the normal stipend will be \$1800. Applicants must have received the degree of Doctor of Philosophy or its equivalent from approved universities in the United States or foreign countries. In general, preference is given to applicants of not more than thirty-five years of age, but older persons are eligible. Applications should be received before March 1; blanks may be obtained from the Graduate School office, Yale University.

At a meeting of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers on January 24, 1940, New York City, the Edison and Hoover Medals will be awarded. Following the presentation Professor E. Fermi of Columbia University will give a lecture on *Atomic disintegration*.

Mr. A. E. Ingham of Cambridge University has been granted a Leverhulme fellowship for research in mathematics.

Professor G. N. Watson of the University of Birmingham has received an honorary doctorate from the University of Edinburgh.

Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University has been elected a foreign honorary member of the Academia de Ciencias Exactas, Fisicas y Naturales de Lima.

Professor Harold Hotelling will give a series of six lectures in November at the Institut Henri Poincaré in Paris, dealing with modern methods of combining observations on a multiplicity of variates and testing hypotheses. He will then spend three months in India advising government officials and lecturing on statistics in Calcutta, Madras, and other cities, under the auspices of the Indian Statistical Institute.

Professor Vladmir Karapetoff of Cornell University has retired with the title emeritus. During 1939–40 he will give a course of lectures at Stevens Institute of Technology.

Professor Eyraud has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Lyon.

Assistant Professor J. C. Brixey of the University of Oklahoma has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor W. A. Cordrey of East Carolina Teachers College has been appointed to a professorship at Southeastern Louisiana College.

Dr. G. M. Ewing of the University of Missouri has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. B. E. Gatewood of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Louisiana Polytechnic Institute.

Dr. C. H. Graves of Pennsylvania State College has been promoted to an assistant Professorship.

Dr. H. S. Kaltenborn of the University of Texas has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Louisiana Polytechnic Institute.

Assistant Professor Jack Levine of North Carolina State College has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Dr. D. C. Lewis of Cornell University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of New Hampshire.

Dr. W. C. McDaniel has accepted a position at Southern Illinois Normal University.

Associate Professor Paul Muehlmann of Xavier University, Cincinnati, has been promoted to a professorship.

Assistant Professor P. K. Rees of New Mexico College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Southern Methodist University.

Dr. J. B. Rosser of Cornell University has been promoted to an assistant professorship. He will be on leave of absence during 1939-40 at Princeton University.

Assistant Professor R. C. Stephens of Knox College, Galesburg, Illinois, has been promoted to an associate professorship. During the year 1939–40 he will be on leave.

Assistant Professor E. C. Stopher of Ashland College, Ashland, Ohio, has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Professor H.L. Turrittin of the College of Mines and Metallurgy at El Paso, Texas, has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Minnesota.

Professor T. L. Wade of Mercer University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Alabama.

Dr. Abraham Wald, formerly of Vienna, has been appointed as lecturer at Columbia University for the academic years 1939–41.

The following members of the American Mathematical Society are in residence at the Institute for Advanced Study for all or part of this academic year: Dr. Warren Ambrose, Dr. Valentin Bargmann, Dr. P. G. Bergmann, Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University, Professor A. D. Campbell of Syracuse University, Dr. M. M. Day, Dr. Paul Erdös, Professor W. W. Flexner of Cornell University, Dr. R. H. Fox, Dr. Kurt Gödel formerly of the University of Vienna, Dr. P. R. Halmos, Professor S. C. Kleene of the University of Wisconsin, Dr. R. S. Phillips, Dr. Abraham Schwartz, Professor H. L. Smith of Louisiana State University, Professor P. A. Smith of Barnard College, Professor R. C. Stephens of Knox College, Dr. Henry Wallman, and Mr. J. S. De Wet.

The following persons are also to be at the Institute for Advanced Study during a part or all of the current academic year: Dr. W. H. Barkas, Dr. A. T. Brauer formerly of the University of Berlin, Dr. C. H. Dowker, Professor Guido Fubini formerly of the University of Turin, Mr. A. E. Ingham of the University of Cambridge, and Professor Henry Margenau of Yale University.

The following appointments to instructorship are announced: University of California at Los Angeles: Dr. P. G. Hoel; Cornell University: Mr. Theodore Hailperin, Dr. Mark Kac, Dr. G. E. Schweigert; University of Detroit: Mr. W. A. Vezeau; Hofstra College, Hempstead, New York: Dr. J. E. Eaton; University of Michigan: Dr. W. T. Scott; University of Minnesota: Dr. H. A. Arnold; University of Nevada: Dr. E. P. Vance; University of Rochester: Dr. J. W. Green; Tennessee Polytechnic Institute: Mr. J. A. Ward; Texas Technological College: Dr. L. F. Ollmann; Dr. R. K. Wakerling.