## NOTES

At the meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the University of New Hampshire at Durham on June 26–27, 1941, the following addresses were presented: Statistical mechanics, by Professor Norbert Wiener of Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Topological transformation groups in euclidean spaces, by Professor Deane Montgomery of Smith College; Vector lattices, by Professor Garrett Birkhoff of Harvard University; Some recent researches on the coloring of maps, by Professor D. C. Lewis of the University of New Hampshire.

At New York University five tuition-free courses in higher mathematics, approved by the United States Office of Education, were given in the evenings beginning June 12. The subjects included advanced methods of applied mathematics, fluid dynamics and applications, theory of elastic plates, electrical network theory and vibrations.

Dr. Harold Davenport of the University of Manchester has been awarded The Adams Prize of the University of Cambridge.

Professor L. J. Mordell of the University of Manchester has been awarded the De Morgan Medal of the London Mathematical Society.

At the fiftieth anniversary celebration of the University of Chicago in September Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University and Professor Oswald Veblen of the Institute for Advanced Study were awarded honorary doctorates.

The degree of doctor of science has been conferred upon Professor P. W. Bridgman of Harvard University by Stevens Institute of Technology.

An honorary doctorate of science has been conferred by Harvard University and by the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn upon Dr. Vannevar Bush, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

An honorary doctorate of science has been conferred by Princeton University upon Professor Emeritus L. E. Dickson of the University of Chicago.

Dean H. E. Hawkes of Columbia University received an honorary doctorate of laws from Bethany College.

Professor J. W. Lasley of the University of North Carolina has been elected president of the Southeastern Section of the Mathematical Association of America.

- Dr. Alfred Tarski of Harvard University has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship.
- Dr. E. G. Begle and Dr. E. R. Kolchin have been awarded National Research Fellowships. They will study at the University of Michigan and the Institute for Advanced Study, respectively.

The William Lowell Putnam Scholarship for 1941 for study at Harvard University has been awarded to Mr. R. F. Arens of the University of California at Los Angeles.

Dr. J. H. Bell of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed research assistant by the National Research Council of Canada.

Assistant Professor P. O. Bell of the University of Kansas has been appointed to a lectureship at Princeton University.

Assistant Professor A. C. Berry of Columbia University has been appointed to an associate professorship at Lawrence College, Appleton, Wisconsin.

Assistant Professor Augusto Bobonis of the University of Puerto Rico has been promoted to an associate professorship.

- Dr. C. E. Clark of Purdue University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Mr. Paul Eberhart of Washburn Municipal University of Topeka, Topeka, Kansas, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. W. K. Feller of Brown University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. J. W. Green of the University of Rochester has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. E. H. Hadlock of Cornell University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Hastings College, Hastings, Nebraska.
- Dr. Marshall Hall of Yale University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. H. J. Hamilton of Pomona College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. I. E. Highberg of Whitman College, Walla Walla, Washington, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. Mabel G. Humphreys of Newcomb College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Assistant Professor E. D. Jenkins of Eastern Kentucky State Teachers College has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Assistant Professor S. C. Kleene of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed to an associate professorship at Amherst College.

Mr. R. A. McKean of Columbia University has been appointed to a lectureship at Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn.

Associate Professor H. B. MacDougal of South Dakota State College has been promoted to a professorship and will be acting head of the department of mathematics.

Professor Szolem Mandelbrojt of the College of France will be visiting professor at Rice Institute during this academic year.

Assistant Professor Anna E. Many of Newcomb College has been promoted to a professorship.

Associate Professor R. H. Marquis of Ohio University has been promoted to a professorship.

Dr. R. J. Michel of the University of Missouri has been appointed to a professorship at Southeast Missouri State Teachers College.

Miss Florence L. Munroe of Northampton High School, Northampton, Massachusetts, has retired.

Dr. E. S. Quade of the University of Florida has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Associate Professor Rafael Sánchez-Díaz of the College of Agriculture and Mechanics Arts, University of Puerto Rico, has been promoted to a professorship.

Dr. Arthur Sard of Queens College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Dr. A. C. Schaeffer of Stanford University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Assistant Professor I. J. Schoenberg of Colby College has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Pennsylvania.

- Mr. C. E. Stevens of Hofstra College, Hempstead, New York, has been promoted to an assistant professorship.
- Dr. M. S. Webster of Purdue University has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

682 Notes

Associate Professor C. H. Wheeler of the University of Richmond has been promoted to a professorship and will be head of the department of mathematics.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Case School of Applied Science: Dr. E. L. Crow, Mr. P. E. Guenther; University of Florida: Mr. R. D. Specht; Harvard University: Dr. Irving Kaplansky, Dr. C. E. Rickart; University of Maryland: Mr. E. N. Nilson; University of Michigan: Dr. C. J. Everett; Northwestern University: Mr. E. L. Buell, Mr. L. L. Cronvich, Mr. R. H. Stark; Ohio State University: Dr. E. J. Mickle; Pennsylvania State College: Dr. W. J. Harrington; Princeton University: Dr. Warren Ambrose, Dr. H. A. Arnold; University of Richmond: Mr. E. S. Grable; Smith College: Dr. Jeanne S. Le Caine; Stanford University: Mr. G. E. Forsythe; United States Naval Academy: Dr. Byron Cosby, Mr. C. B. Lindquist, Dr. A. W. McGaughey, Dr. Seymour Sherman; Vassar College: Alexandra I. Forsythe; Wellesley College: Miss Katharine E. Hazard.

Professor G. Prange of the Technical School in Hannover died February 3, 1941.

Professor D. D. Leib of Connecticut College died June 15, 1941. He had been a member of the Society since 1909.