NOTES

The American Mathematical Society announces a new series of monographs, Mathematical Surveys. Each book will be about 150 pages in length and will make available the principal methods and results that have been obtained on a certain broad problem, without entering into all details of proof. The books of the new series will be distinguished from the Colloquium Publications in that the latter contain, to a large extent, new research material, while the monographs in the surveys will be mainly expository.

The first two books of the series are the following: *The problem of moments* by J. D. Tamarkin and J. A. Shohat and *Rings* by Nathan Jacobson. The price for Volume 1 is \$2.50 and for Volume 2 \$2.00. Members of the American Mathematical Society receive a discount of twenty-five per cent. Orders for either of these books should be addressed to the Society at 531 West 116th Street, New York, 27, N. Y.

The First National Congress of Mathematics was held at Saltillo, Mexico, November 1–7, 1942. Dr. A. Nápoles Gándara, who is director of the Institute of Mathematics at the University of Mexico, was secretary of the Congress. Professor P. R. Rider of Washington University and Professor M. S. Vallarta of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology participated in the Congress.

Dr. P. A. Alexandroff has been awarded a Stalin prize.

Professor L. E. J. Brouwer of the University of Amsterdam and Professor Godofredo García Díaz of the University of San Marcos have been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

Professor E. A. Milne of the University of Oxford has been elected president of the Royal Astronomical Society.

Professor G. F. J. Temple of Kings College, London, has been elected to fellowship in the Royal Society.

Professor A. A. Albert of the University of Chicago has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor G. D. Birkhoff of Harvard University has been elected an honorary member of the Royal Irish Academy. He has also received an honorary doctorate of laws from the University of California at Los Angeles.

NOTES

Professor M. H. Stone of Harvard University has been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

Professor J. L. Synge of the University of Toronto has been elected a fellow of the Royal Society of London.

Dr. P. C. Rosenbloom has been appointed a National Research Fellow.

Assistant Professor R. G. Archibald of Queens College has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Assistant Professor H. R. Cooley of New York University has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Assistant Professor Nelson Dunford of Yale University has been promoted to an associate professorship.

Associate Professor J. S. Frame of Allegheny College has been appointed to a professorship at Michigan State College.

Associate Professor W. L. Hutchings of Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida, has been appointed to an associate professorship at Whitman College, Walla Walla, Washington.

Mrs. C. J. Keyser has been appointed dean of Nightingale-Bamford School, New York City.

Dr. B. A. Lengyel of the College of the City of New York has been appointed to an assistant professorship in the department of physics at the University of Rochester.

Assistant Professor W. T. Martin of Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been appointed to a professorship at Syracuse University.

Associate Professor A. F. Moursund of the University of Oregon has been promoted to a professorship.

Professor J. L. Synge of the University of Toronto has been appointed head of the department of mathematics at Ohio State University to replace Professor H. W. Kuhn, who has retired.

Dr. A. D. Wallace of the University of Pennsylvania has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

Associate Professor V. H. Wells of Williams College has been promoted to a professorship.

NOTES

Dr. Max Wyman has been appointed lecturer in mathematics at the University of Alberta.

Dr. Leo Zippin of Queens College has been promoted to an assistant professorship.

The following appointments to instructorships are announced: University of Buffalo: Dr. Paul Civin; University of Michigan: Mr. P. S. Jones; Reed College; Dr. R. W. Shephard; University of Virginia: Mr. W. H. Gottschalk.

Dean H. E. Hawkes of Columbia University died May 4, 1943, at the age of seventy years. He had been a member of the Society since 1898.

Professor R. L. Menuet of Tulane University died May 9, 1943.

Dr. W. H. Metzler who retired as dean of the New York State College for Teachers in 1933 died April 18, 1943, at the age of seventy-nine years. He had been a member of the Society since 1891.

Professor Emeritus H. S. White of Vassar College died May 20, 1943. He had been a member of the Society since 1892.

Professor J. E. Williams of Virginia Polytechnic Institute died April 19, 1943, at the age of seventy-five years. He had been a member of the Society since 1905.

Professor Emeritus Clara E. Smith of Wellesley College died May 12, 1943. She had been a member of the Society since 1904.

534