## NOTES

Professor P. A. Alexandroff of the University of Moscow has been elected a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. L. M. Brown of the University of Edinburgh, Dr. J. M. Hyslop of the University of Glasgow, Dr. J. M. Jackson of University College, Dundee, and Dr. A. J. Macintyre of the University of Aberdeen have been elected fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Miss Mary L. Cartwright of the University of Cambridge and Professor T. G. Cowling of the University College of North Wales have been elected fellows of the Royal Society.

Dean R. D. Carmichael of the University of Illinois has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor O. E. Neugebauer of Brown University and Professor Hassler Whitney of Harvard University have been elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society.

Professor P. A. Smith of Columbia University has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Patricia Dolciani of Cornell University has been awarded the Sigma Delta Epsilon post doctoral fellowship for 1947–1948 and will study at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Messrs. Paul Olum of Harvard University and E. H. Spanier of the University of Michigan have been awarded Frank B. Jewett fellowships for 1947–1948 by the American Telephone and Telegraph Company.

Associate Professor J. B. D. Derksen of the Netherlands School of Economics at Rotterdam has joined the Statistical Office of the United Nations at Lake Success.

Dr. G. H. A. Grosheide and Dr. J. Haantjes of the Free University of Amsterdam have been promoted to professorships. This is a correction of an item in the March issue of this Bulletin.

Mr. K. J. Arrow of Columbia University has been appointed research associate with the Cowles Commission for Research in Economics.

Professor W. L. Ayres of Purdue University has been appointed Dean of the School of Science.

Mr. R. C. Buck of Harvard University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Brown University.

Professor Samuel Eilenberg of Indiana University has been appointed to a professorship at Columbia University.

Dr. Abe Gelbart of Syracuse University will be on leave of absence at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Professor H. H. Germond of the University of Florida has accepted the position of director of research for F. W. Marshall Company, New York, New York.

Associate Professor H. S. Gould of Victoria College, University of Toronto, has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Purdue University.

Dr. E. J. Gumbel of Newark College of Engineering has been appointed to an associate professorship at Brooklyn College.

Dr. O. G. Harrold of Princeton University has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Tennessee.

Assistant Professor Edwin Hewitt of Bryn Mawr College has been appointed lecturer at the University of Chicago.

Dr. Carl Kossack of the Navy Department has been appointed to an associate professorship at Purdue University.

Professor C. G. Latimer of the University of Kentucky has been appointed to a professorship at Emory University.

Professor L. L. Lowenstein of Alfred University has been appointed to a professorship at Kent State University.

Assistant Professor Andrewa R. Noble of Montana State University has been appointed to an associate professorship at Pacific University, Forest Grove, Oregon.

Mr. J. I. Northam of the University of Wisconsin has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Kansas State College.

Assistant Professor A. M. Peiser of Rutgers University has been appointed mathematician with Hydrocarbon Research, Incorporated, New York, N. Y.

Professor H. B. Phillips of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has retired.

Assistant Professor R. S. Phillips of New York University has been appointed to an associate professorship at the University of Southern California.

Associate Professor Arthur Rosenthal of the University of New Mexico has been appointed to a professorship at Purdue University.

Professor A. C. Schaeffer of Stanford University has been appointed to a professorship at Purdue University.

Assistant Professor Ruth G. Simond of Berea College has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa.

Assistant Professor G. B. Van Schaack of Union College has been

appointed to an assistant professorship at Washington University.

Assistant Professor G. L. Walker of Temple University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Purdue University.

Assistant Professor A. D. Wallace of the University of Pennsylvania has been appointed to a professorship at Tulane University.

Assistant Professor Kenichi Watanabe of the University of Hawaii has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Indiana.

Associate Professor E. L. Welker of the University of Illinois has been appointed associate in mathematics in the Bureau of Medical Economic Research of the American Medical Association.

Dr. G. W. Whitehead of Princeton University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Brown University.

The following promotions are announced:

Max Astrachan, Antioch College, to a professorship.

John Dyer-Bennet, Purdue University, to an assistant professorship.

Cleota G. Fry, Purdue University, to an assistant professorship.

W. H. Gottschalk, University of Pennsylvania, to an assistant professorship.

M. H. Heins, Brown University, to a professorship.

H. K. Hughes, Purdue University, to a professorship.

C. W. Jordan, Williams College, to an assistant professorship.

M. W. Keller, Purdue University, to a professorship.

R. R. Kuebler, Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pennsylvania, to an assistant professorship.

G. E. Markle, University of Detroit, to an assistant professorship.

R. D. Mindlin, Columbia University, to a professorship.

M. G. Moore, Bradley University, Peoria, Illinois, to an associate professorship.

W. D. Munro, University of Minnesota, to an assistant professorship.

Nilan Norris, Hunter College, to an assistant professorship.

Sam Perlis, Purdue University, to an assistant professorship.

E. K. Ritter, Postgraduate School, United States Naval Academy, to an associate professorship.

C. K. Robbins, Purdue University, to an associate professorship.

J. C. Smith, Lafayette College, Easton, Pennsylvania, to an assistant professorship.

D. W. Western, Brown University, to an assistant professorship. The following appointments to instructorships are announced: Brown University: Mrs. R. C. Buck, Dr. Kathleen E. Butcher; University of California: Dr. E. W. Barankin; United States Naval Academy: Mr. J. R. Gorman.

Professor P. J. Daniells of the University of Sheffield died May 25, 1946.

Professor L. G. Owen, formerly of the University of Rangoon, died February 23, 1947.

Mr. C. C. Andersen of Chicago, Illinois, died on April 21, 1947.

Professor H. J. Gay of Worcester Polytechnic Institute died May 1, 1947, at the age of forty-nine years. He had been a member of the Society since 1921.

Professor Emeritus C. J. Keyser of Columbia University died May 8, 1947 at the age of eighty-six years. He had been a member of the Society since 1897.

Professor W. T. Short of Oklahoma Baptist University died February 19, 1947.