## NOTES

The Unione Matematica Italiana will hold its Third National Congress in Pisa, Italy, on September 23–26, 1948. The Unione cordially invites all members of the American Mathematical Society to participate and asks that those who are interested communicate with Professor Luigi Berzolari, President of the Unione, at the University of Bologna.

The Domus Galilaeana was founded in Pisa in 1941 for the purpose of coordinating studies and research on the life and works of Galileo. It gathers books, manuscripts and historical documents, issues appropriate publications and maintains a library open to the public.

Associate Professor Maurice Ewing of Columbia University and Professor E. J. McShane of the University of Virginia have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor C. C. Chevalley of Princeton University, Assistant Professor Irving Kaplansky of the University of Chicago, and Associate Professor Norman Levinson of Massachusetts Institute of Technology have been awarded Guggenheim fellowships.

President W. M. Whyburn of Texas Technological College has been awarded an honorary degree by Texas Technological College. He has been appointed to a professorship at the University of North Carolina.

Dr. Churchill Eisenhart, Chief of the Statistical Engineering Laboratory, National Bureau of Standards, has been elected a fellow of the Royal Statistical Society of Great Britain.

Professor E. W. Sheldon of the University of Alberta has retired with the title emeritus.

Professor A. S. Besicovitch of Trinity College, Cambridge University, will be a visiting professor at the University of Pennsylvania during the academic year 1948–1949.

Assistant Professor I. S. Cohen of the University of Pennsylvania has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Assistant Professor Lester Dawson of Michigan College of Mining and Technology has been appointed to an associate professorship at Adams State College, Alamosa, Colorado.

Professor G. A. Hedlund of the University of Virginia has been appointed to a professorship at Yale University.

Assistant Professor D. M. Hester, formerly of the New Mexico School of Mines, has accepted a position at the Northeast Missouri State College, Maryville, Missouri.

Dr. H. D. Huskey has been appointed Chief of the Machine Development Laboratory of the National Bureau of Standards.

Mr. Eric Kristensen has been appointed lecturer at Washington University.

Professor D. C. Lewis of the University of Maryland has been appointed to a professorship at Johns Hopkins University.

Associate Professor A. K. Mitchell of the University of Maryland has accepted a position as aerodynamicist at the Applied Physics Laboratory of the Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Zeev Nehari of Hebrew University has been appointed to an associate professorship at Washington University.

Professor Rufus Oldenburger of Illinois Institute of Technology has been appointed to a professorship at De Paul University.

Mr. Edgar Phibbs has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Alberta.

The retirement of Dean R. G. D. Richardson of Brown University has been announced.

Dr. R. D. Schafer has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Pennsylvania.

Mr. E. T. Sheffield has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Alberta.

Assistant Professor Ruth G. Simond of Morningside College, Sioux City, Iowa, has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Vermont.

Dr. C. V. L. Smith has been appointed Head of the Computing Machine Section of the Mathematics Branch of the Office of Naval Research.

Dr. E. H. Spanier of the Institute for Advanced Study has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Chicago.

Assistant Professor D. W. Western of Brown University has been appointed to an associate professorship at Franklin and Marshall College.

Dr. Albert Wilansky of Brown University has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Lehigh University.

Professor Antoni Zygmund of the University of Chicago is now at the University of Buenos Aires, as visiting professor.

The following promotions have been announced.

Herbert Federer, Brown University, to an associate professorship.

S. G. Hacker, State College of Washington, to a professorship.

Franklin Haimo, Washington University, to an assistant professorship.

Witold Hurewicz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, to a

professorship.

R. E. Huston, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, to a professorship. Bjarni Jónsson, Brown University, to an assistant professorship. Wouter van der Kulk, Brown University, to an assistant professor-

- C. T. McCormick, Illinois State Normal University, to a professor-ship.
- H. M. Schaerf, Washington University, to an associate professorship.
  - K. C. Schraut, University of Dayton, to a professorship.
  - E. R. Stabler, Hofstra College, to an associate professorship.
- Mary V. Sunseri, Stanford University, to an acting assistant professorship.
- G. B. Van Schaack, Washington University, to an associate professorship.
  - M. S. Webster, Purdue University, to an associate professorship.
- G. W. Whitehead, Brown University, to an associate professorship. The appointment of Mr. Charles Saltzer to an instructorship at Case Institute of Applied Sciences is announced.
- Dr. H. W. Richmond of Cambridge University died April 22, 1948, at the age of eighty-four years. He had been a member of the Society for forty-seven years.

Professor Emeritus Clara L. Bacon of Goucher College died April 14, 1948, at the age of eighty-one years. She had been a member of the Society for thirty-seven years.

Associate Professor Emeritus J. K. Whittemore of Yale University died March 22, 1948, at the age of seventy-two years. He had been a member of the Society for over fifty years.

Correction: On page 496 of the May 1948 issue of this Bulletin (vol. 54, no. 5) the title of the dissertation of R. M. Cohn should be Manifolds of difference polynomials.