NOTES

Brown University announces its Third Symposium on Plasticity to be held September 8–9, 1950 under the auspices of the Graduate Division of Applied Mathematics.

The University of Maryland announces a Conference on Differential Equations to be held on September 8-9, 1950.

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced awards in mathematics to the following: Dr. J. H. Bigelow, Institute for Advanced Study; Professor Samuel Eilenberg, Columbia University; Associate Professor N. E. Steenrod, Princeton University; Dr. R. P. Boas, Jr., American Mathematical Society; and Associate Professor Philip Hartman, Johns Hopkins University.

Professor H. S. M. Coxeter of the University of Toronto has been elected a fellow in the Royal Society.

Professor J. G. van der Corput of the University of Amsterdam is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Stanford University.

Professor Emeritus W. B. Carver of Cornell University has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Southern Illinois University.

Assistant Professor W. B. Caton of the State College of Washington has been appointed to an assistant professorship at DePaul University.

Associate Professor John DeCicco of the Illinois Institute of Technology has been appointed to a professorship at DePaul University.

Mr. R. J. Learson of the Western and Southern Insurance Company has accepted a position as Associate Manager of Selection with the Mutual Life Insurance Company of New York.

Professor H. B. Mann of Ohio State University is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at the University of California.

Professor B. C. Patterson of Hamilton College has been appointed president of Washington and Jefferson College.

Professor A. C. Schaeffer of Purdue University has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Wisconsin.

Dr. Dorothy M. Stone has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Wellesley College.

Dr. J. V. Wehausen of David Taylor Model Basin, Navy Department, Washington, has accepted appointment to the position of Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews to succeed Dr. R. P. Boas.

NOTES 383

Professor F. B. Wiley of Denison University has retired with the title Emeritus.

The following promotions have been announced:

- F. S. Beckman, Pratt Institute, to an assistant professorship.
- R. G. Blake, University of Florida, to an assistant professorship.
- H. K. Brown, Northeastern University, to an associate professorship.
 - R. G. Helsel, Ohio State University, to a professorship.

Chosaburo Kato, Denison University, to a professorship.

Howard Levi, Columbia University, to an associate professorship.

- G. B. Lang, University of Florida, to an associate professorship.
- C. J. Rees, University of Delaware, to dean of the School of Graduate Studies.
 - E. P. Vance, Oberlin College, to an associate professorship.
- M. R. Spiegel, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, to an assistant professorship.

The following appointment to an instructorship is announced: Oregon State College: Mr. F. E. Ehlers.

Professor G. H. Livens of University College, Cardiff, Wales, died March 26, 1950. He had been a member of the Society for twenty-eight years.

The note about Dr. Meyer Jerison which appeared under instructorships on p. 275 of volume 56 of the Bulletin, May 1950, is in error and should read "University of Illinois: Dr. Meyer Jerison."

The note about Professor Fritz Rothberger on p. 274 of volume 56 of the Bulletin, May 1950, is in error and should read "professorship at the University of New Brunswick."