NOTES

As part of the Semicentennial Celebration of the National Bureau of Standards, a Symposium on the Solution of Simultaneous Equations and the Determination of Eigenvalues will be held at the Institute for Numerical Analysis (a section of the NBS Applied Mathematics Laboratory) at Los Angeles, California, on August 23–25, 1951.

Dr. Christine Williams Ayoub of Cornell University has been awarded a post doctoral fellowship by Sigma Delta Epsilon.

Professor Einar Hille of Yale University has been elected a foreign member, first class, of the Swedish Academy of Sciences.

Professor G. T. Whyburn of the University of Virginia and Professor H. P. Robertson of the California Institute of Technology have been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences.

Professor Jakob Nielsen of the Technical University of Denmark has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Copenhagen.

Professor C. B. Allendoerfer of Haverford College has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Washington.

Mr. A. F. Bartholomay of Rutgers University has accepted a position as research mathematician at the Laboratory for Electronics, Inc., Boston, Massachusetts.

Professor Z. W. Birnbaum of the University of Washington is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Stanford University.

Dr. Nat Edmonson of Fairchild Engine and Airplane Corporation has accepted a position as mathematician at the Oak Ridge National Laboratories.

Associate Professor R. E. Gaskell of Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts is on leave of absence and has accepted a position at Boeing Aircraft Corporation, Seattle, Washington.

Dr. Saul Gorn of the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base has accepted a position as principal research mathematician at the Computing Laboratory and as a member of the Scientific Staff of the Ballistic Research Laboratories, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

Dr. Emil Grosswald of the University of Saskatchewan is on leave of absence and has been appointed a member of the Institute for Advanced Study for the year 1951–1952.

Assistant Professor R. C. James of the University of California has been appointed to an associate professorship at Haverford College. Assistant Professor Jacob Korevaar of Purdue University has been appointed to a professorship at the Institute of Technology, Delft, Netherlands.

Mr. Rubin Kuritsky of Michigan State College has accepted a position as research engineer at North American Aviation Co., Los Angeles, California.

Assistant Professor W. W. Leutert of the University of Maryland has accepted a position as mathematician at the Ballistic Research Laboratories, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

Dr. George Lorentz has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Toronto.

Professor Charles Loewner of Syracuse University has been appointed to a professorship at Stanford University.

Professor J. C. C. McKinsey of Oklahoma Agricultural and Mechanical College is on leave of absence and has been appointed to a visiting professorship at Stanford University.

Dr. W. L. Murdock of Cornell University has accepted a position as mathematician at General Electric Company, Syracuse, New York.

Assistant Professor Saul Rosen of Drexel Institute of Technology has accepted a position at Burroughs Adding Machine Company, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Louis Sacks of the Carnegie Institute of Technology has been appointed to an assistant professorship at the University of Pittsburgh.

Assistant Professor W. C. Sangren of the University of Miami has accepted a position as senior mathematician at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Assistant Professor R. H. Somers of the University of New Hampshire has retired.

Dr. George Springer of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has been appointed to an assistant professorship at Northwestern University.

Dr. Jacob Wolfowitz of Columbia University has been appointed to a professorship at Cornell University.

The following promotions have been announced:

R. P. Dilworth, California Institute of Technology, to a professorship.

H. Margaret Elliott, Washington University, to an assistant professorship.

Zeev Nehari, Washington University, to a professorship.

Rohn Truell, Brown University, to a professorship.

The following appointment to an instructorship is announced:

University of Oregon: Mr. R. D. Stalley.

Professor Emeritus G. A. Bliss of the University of Chicago died on May 8, 1951 at the age of seventy-four years. He had been a member of the Society for fifty-one years.

Dr. R. B. Robbins of Charlottesville, Virginia died on February 11, 1951 at the age of sixty-five years. He had been a member of the Society for thirty-seven years.

Dean H. L. Slobin of the University of New Hampshire died on February 23, 1951 at the age of sixty-eight years. He had been a member of the Society for forty-two years.

Professor Emeritus W. D. A. Westfall of the University of Missouri died on April 28, 1951 at the age of seventy-two years. He had been a member of the Society for forty-nine years.

Mr. A. H. Wheeler of Worcester, Massachusetts, died on December 19, 1950. He had been a member of the Society for twenty-seven years.

335