NOTES

The International Congress of Mathematicians 1954 will be held in Amsterdam from September 2 to September 9 under the auspices of Het Wiskundig Genootschap (The Mathematical Society of the Netherlands). Those who wish to attend the Congress are requested to communicate their name (with degrees, qualifications etc.) and full address to the secretariat, 2d Boerhaavestraat 49, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, as soon as possible.

The Board of Directors of the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable and Scientific Purposes, Inc. announce the establishment of a prize to be known as the "Dannie Heineman Prize," in the sum of \$5,000, to be awarded every three years to the author of an outstanding book or manuscript in the mathematical or physical sciences. Submissions for the next award shall be made not later than December 31, 1955. Further information may be obtained from the Secretary of the Foundation, 50 Broadway, New York 4, New York.

The American Mathematical Society has received a grant from the National Science Foundation for research in experimental methods for reducing costs of publication and distribution of mathematical papers.

National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowships have been awarded to the following: Assistant Professor N. J. Fine, University of Pennsylvania; Visiting Associate Professor J. L. Kelley, University of Kansas; Dr. J. C. Moore, Princeton University; Associate Professor Ernst Snapper, University of Southern California.

The National Science Foundation has announced grants in mathematics to the following institutions, to support studies by the professor indicated: University of Michigan, Wilfred Kaplan; Princeton University, N. E. Steenrod; University of Virginia, E. J. McShane; Washington University, H. Margaret Elliott.

Associate Professor Arthur Bernhart of the University of Oklahoma has received a five hundred dollar award "for extraordinary excellence in student counseling and in the teaching of freshman and sophomore students." A grant of \$25,000 to the University will make it possible to present ten similar awards each year during the next five years.

Assistant Professor Louise H. Chin of the University of Arizona has received a Ford Foundation Fellowship and will study at Harvard University and the University of California.

Professor Arthur Erdélyi of the California Institute of Technology has been elected a Foreign Member of the Academy of Sciences of Turin. Professor W. G. Madow of the University of Illinois has received a grant from the Fund for the Advancement of Education and will spend the year at Princeton University.

Professor K. O. May of Carleton College has been awarded a Ford Foundation Fellowship.

Associate Professor H. M. Schaerf of Washington University has been awarded a Ford Foundation Fellowship.

Professor C. F. Stephens of Morgan State College has been awarded a Ford Foundation Fellowship and will study at the Institute for Advanced Study.

Dr. L. G. Fourès of the Institute for Advanced Study has been appointed a lecturer at the University of Marseille.

Professor Laurent Schwartz of the University of Nancy has been appointed a lecturer at the Institut Henri Poincaré, University of Paris.

- Dr. Eleazer Bromberg of the Office of Naval Research has accepted a position as assistant chief of the Division of Computing Services, Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University.
- Mr. R. G. Brown of the Willow Run Research Center, University of Michigan, has accepted a position as member of the Operations Research Group, Arthur D. Little, Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts.
- Mr. D. E. Coffey of Saline High School, Saline, Michigan, has been appointed to an associate professorship at Lawrence Institute of Technology.
- Dr. Robert Davies of the Rand Corporation has accepted a position as senior research engineer with the General Motors Corporation, Detroit, Michigan.
- Dr. A. H. Diamond of the Office of Ordnance Research, Durham, North Carolina, has been appointed to a professorship at Stevens Institute of Technology.
- Dr. H. A. Dye of the California Institute of Technology is on leave of absence at the Institute for Advanced Study.
- Dr. G. W. Evans of the Argonne National Laboratory has accepted a position as applied mathematician with the University of California Radiation Laboratory, Livermore, California.

Professor Franz Hohn of the University of Illinois is on leave of absence and has accepted a position with the Bell Telephone Laboratories.

Associate Professor Emeritus K. W. Lamson of Lehigh University has been appointed to a visiting professorship at the University of Puerto Rico.

Dr. R. A. Leibler of the Sandia Corporation has accepted a position as mathematician with the Defense Department, Washington, D. C.

Dr. Harold Luxenberg of the Hughes Aircraft Company has accepted a position as consulting engineer with Remington Rand, Inc., Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Dr. Harry Polachek of the Naval Ordnance Laboratory, White Oak, Silver Spring, Maryland, has accepted a position as head of the applied Mathematics Laboratory, David Taylor Model Basin, Washington, D. C.

Mr. B. A. Rattray of McGill University has been appointed a lecturer at the University of New Brunswick.

Dr. Joan E. Robinson of Bryn Mawr College has accepted a position as mathematician with the National Security Agency, Washington, D. C.

Assistant Professor R. D. Schafer of the University of Pennsylvania has been appointed to a professorship at the University of Connecticut.

Associate Professor Henry Scheffé of Columbia University has been appointed to a professorship at the University of California, Berkeley.

Associate Professor R. M. Whitmore of Southwestern University is on leave of absence and has been appointed a staff member at the Sandia Corporation.

Assistant Professor Fumio Yagi of the University of Washington has accepted a position as mathematician with the Ballistic Research Laboratories, Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland.

The following promotions are announced:

Iacopo Barsotti, University of Pittsburgh, to a professorship.

- E. J. Gumbel, Columbia University, to an adjunct professorship.
- G. W. Morgan, Brown University, to an associate professorship.
- W. J. Thron, Washington University, to an associate professorship. The following appointments to instructorships are announced: California Institute of Technology: Dr. J. M. G. Fell, Dr. F. L. Spitzer; University of Washington: Dr. A. E. Livingston.
- Dr. D. F. Campbell of Chicago, Illinois, died on February 5, 1953, at the age of eighty-six years. He had been a member of the Society for fifty-three years.

Professor Emeritus D. R. Curtiss of Northwestern University died on April 28, 1953, at the age of seventy-five years. He had been a member of the Society for fifty-one years.

- Mr. T. B. Ripton of Mattapan, Massachusetts, died in March, 1953, at the age of forty-two years.
- Mr. L. G. Simon of New York, New York, died on February 18, 1953, at the age of sixty-three years. He had been a member of the Society for thirty-three years.