## Committee on Applied Mathematics

R. E. Bellman, Garrett Birkhoff, R. S. Burington, A. E. Heins, A. S. Householder, Shizuo Kakutani, F. J. Murray (Chairman).

## Committee on Translations from Russian and Other Foreign Languages

R. E. Bellman, R. P. Boas, Jr., J. L. Doob (Chairman), Irving Kaplansky, Hans Samelson.

### FORMER PRESIDENTS

J. H. Van Amringe, 1889–1890 Emory McClintock, 1891-1894 G. W. Hill, 1895-1896 Simon Newcomb, 1897-1898 R. S. Woodward, 1899–1900 E. H. Moore, 1901-1902 T. S. Fiske, 1903-1904 W. F. Osgood, 1905-1906 H. S. White, 1907–1908 Maxime Bôcher, 1909-1910 H. B. Fine, 1911-1912 E. B. Van Vleck, 1913-1914 E. W. Brown, 1915-1916 L. E. Dickson, 1917-1918 Frank Morley, 1919-1920 G. A. Bliss, 1921-1922 Oswald Veblen, 1923-1924

G. D. Birkhoff, 1925-1926 Virgil Snyder, 1927-1928 E. R. Hedrick, 1929-1930 L. P. Eisenhart, 1931-1932 A. B. Coble, 1933–1934 Solomon Lefschetz, 1935-1936 R. L. Moore, 1937-1938 G. C. Evans, 1939–1940 Marston Morse, 1941-1942 M. H. Stone, 1943-1944 T. H. Hildebrandt, 1945-1946 Einar Hille, 1947-1948 J. L. Walsh, 1949-1950 John von Neumann, 1951-1952 G. T. Whyburn, 1953-1954 R. L. Wilder, 1955-1956

## ENDOWMENT FUND

In 1923 an Endowment Fund was collected to meet the greater demands on the Society's publication program caused by the ever increasing number of important mathematical memoirs. Of this fund, which now amounts to some \$94,000, a considerable proportion was contributed by members of the Society. Under the terms of the will of the late Robert Henderson, for many years a Trustee of the Society, the Society receives approximately \$4,000 yearly. Upon the death of the other legatees, the Society will receive the entire principal of the estate for its Endowment Fund.

# SPECIAL FUNDS (\$500 or more)

### The Bôcher Memorial Prize

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and