Committee on Applied Mathematics

R. E. Bellman, Garrett Birkhoff, R. S. Burington, A. E. Heins, A. S. Householder, Shizuo Kakutani, F. J. Murray (Chairman).

Committee on Translations from Russian and Other Foreign Languages

R. E. Bellman, R. P. Boas, Jr., J. L. Doob (Chairman), Irving Kaplansky, Hans Samelson.

FORMER PRESIDENTS

I. H. Van Amringe, 1889-1890 Emory McClintock, 1891-1894 G. W. Hill, 1895-1896 Simon Newcomb, 1897-1898 R. S. Woodward, 1899–1900 E. H. Moore, 1901-1902 T. S. Fiske, 1903-1904 W. F. Osgood, 1905-1906 H. S. White, 1907–1908 Maxime Bôcher, 1909-1910 H. B. Fine, 1911–1912 E. B. Van Vleck, 1913-1914 E. W. Brown, 1915–1916 L. E. Dickson, 1917-1918 Frank Morley, 1919-1920 G. A. Bliss, 1921-1922 Oswald Veblen, 1923-1924

G. D. Birkhoff, 1925-1926 Virgil Snyder, 1927–1928 E. R. Hedrick, 1929-1930 L. P. Eisenhart, 1931-1932 A. B. Coble, 1933–1934 Solomon Lefschetz, 1935-1936 R. L. Moore, 1937-1938 G. C. Evans, 1939–1940 Marston Morse, 1941-1942 M. H. Stone, 1943-1944 T. H. Hildebrandt, 1945-1946 Einar Hille, 1947-1948 J. L. Walsh, 1949-1950 John von Neumann, 1951-1952 G. T. Whyburn, 1953-1954 R. L. Wilder, 1955-1956

ENDOWMENT FUND

In 1923 an Endowment Fund was collected to meet the greater demands on the Society's publication program caused by the ever increasing number of important mathematical memoirs. Of this fund, which now amounts to some \$94,000, a considerable proportion was contributed by members of the Society. Under the terms of the will of the late Robert Henderson, for many years a Trustee of the Society, the Society receives approximately \$4,000 yearly. Upon the death of the other legatees, the Society will receive the entire principal of the estate for its Endowment Fund.

SPECIAL FUNDS

(\$500 or more)

The Bôcher Memorial Prize

This prize was founded in memory of Professor Maxime Bôcher. It is awarded every five years for a notable research memoir in analysis which has appeared during the preceding five years in a recognized journal published in the United States or Canada; the recipient must be a member of the Society, and not more than fifty years old at the time of publication of his memoir.

First (Preliminary) Award, 1923: To G. D. Birkhoff, for his memoir Dynamical systems with two degrees of freedom.

Second Award, 1924: To E. T. Bell, for his memoir Arithmetical paraphrases, and

to Solomon Lefschetz, for his memoir On certain numerical invariants with applications to abelian varieties.

Third Award, 1928: To J. W. Alexander, for his memoir Combinatorial analysis situs.

Fourth Award, 1933: To Marston Morse, for his memoir *The foundations of a theory* of the calculus of variations in the large in m-space, and to Norbert Wiener, for his memoir *Tauberian theorems*.

Fifth Award, 1938: To John von Neumann, for his memoir Almost periodic functions and groups.

Sixth Award, 1943: To Jesse Douglas, for his memoirs Green's functions and the problem of Plateau, The most general form of the problem of Plateau, and Solution of the inverse problem of the calculus of variations.

Seventh Award, 1948: To A. C. Schaeffer and D. C. Spencer for their memoir Coefficients of schlicht functions.

Eighth Award, 1953: To Norman Levinson for his contributions to the theory of linear, nonlinear, ordinary, and partial differential equations contained in his papers of recent years.

The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in Algebra The Frank Nelson Cole Prize in the Theory of Numbers

These prizes were founded in honor of Professor Frank Nelson Cole, on the occasion of his retirement as Secretary of the American Mathematical Society and Editor of the Bulletin, after twenty-five years of service; the fund was later doubled by his son, Charles A. Cole. They are awarded at five-year intervals for contributions to algebra and the theory of numbers, respectively, under restrictions similar to those for the Bôcher prize.

First Award, 1928: To L. E. Dickson, for his book Algebra und ihre Zahlentheorie, Zurich, 1927.

Second Award, 1931: To H. S. Vandiver, for his several papers on Fermat's last theorem published in the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society and the Annals of Mathematics during the last five years, with special reference to a paper entitled *On Fermat's last theorem*, which appeared in volume 31 of the Transactions.

Third Award, 1939: To A. A. Albert, for his papers on the construction of Riemann matrices, published in volumes 35 and 36 of the Annals of Mathematics.

Fourth Award, 1941: To Claude Chevalley, for his paper entitled La théorie du corps de classes, published in volume 41 of the Annals of Mathematics.

Fifth Award, 1944: To Oscar Zariski, for four papers on algebraic varieties, published in volumes 61 and 62 of the American Journal of Mathematics and volumes 40 and 41 of the Annals of Mathematics.

Sixth Award, 1946: to H. B. Mann for his paper entitled A proof of the fundamental theorem on the density of sums of sets of positive integers, published in volume 43 of the Annals of Mathematics.

Seventh Award, 1949: To Richard Brauer, for his memoir On Artin's L-series with

636 AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

general group characters, published in volume 48 of the Annals of Mathematics.

Eighth Award, 1951: To Paul Erdös, for his many papers in the Theory of Numbers, and in particular for his paper, On a new method in elementary number theory which leads to an elementary proof of the prime number theorem, published in the Proceedings of the National Academy, volume 35, pp. 374-385, July, 1949.

Ninth Award, 1954: To Harish-Chandra, for his papers on representations of semisimple Lie algebras and groups, and particularly for his paper On some applications of the universal enveloping algebra of a semisimple Lie algebra, published in volume 70 of the Transactions of the American Mathematical Society.

The Eliakim Hastings Moore Fund

This fund was founded in 1922 in honor of Professor Eliakim Hastings Moore, on the occasion of the twenty-fifth anniversary meetings of the Chicago Section of the American Mathematical Society. The income from the fund of \$2,575 is to be used at the discretion of the Council of the Society, for the publication of important mathematical books or memoirs, or the award of prizes.

The Marion Reilly Fund

Dean Marion Reilly willed to the American Mathematical Society a portion of her estate to be used for the advancement of research in pure mathematics. The principal of this fund is \$23,650.

The Ernest William Brown Fund

From the estate of Professor Ernest William Brown, a fund of \$1,000 is available, the interest on which, at the discretion of the Council, can be used for the furtherance of such mathematical interests as (a) the publication of important mathematical books, memoirs, and periodicals, and (b) lectures to be delivered on special occasions by invited guests of the Society.

The Robert Henderson Fund

Upon his retirement from the Board of Trustees on December 31, 1940, Dr. Robert Henderson presented to the Society an unrestricted gift of \$1,000 which the Trustees have set aside as the Robert Henderson Fund.

The James K. Whittemore Fund

From the estate of Professor James K. Whittemore, a fund of \$1,000 is available for use in the interest of mathematical research.

The Genevra B. Hutchinson Fund

A fund of \$1,000 from the estate of the late Genevra B. Hutchinson, in memory of her husband Professor J. I. Hutchinson, for use, at the discretion of the Council and Trustees, in the advancement of mathematical research.

The Helen A. Merrill Fund

From the estate of the late Professor Helen A. Merrill, a fund of \$650 is available for use in the interest of mathematical research.

Library Proceeds Fund

A fund of \$66,000 established by the Trustees in 1951 from the proceeds of the sale of the Society's Library.