Volume 78 Number 1 Pages 1-104 January 1972 Issue 736

CODEN: BAMOAD

# BULLETIN

of the

## AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

## Edited by

GIAN-CARLO ROTA M. H. PROTTER HANS F. WEINBERGER

Published by the American Mathematical Society Providence, Rhode Island

### AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Business Office: P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904 Gordon L. Walker, Executive Director

Lincoln K. Durst, Deputy Director

#### OFFICERS

President: Nathan Jacobson, Department of Mathematics, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut 06520

 President-Elect: Saunders Mac Lane, Department of Mathematics, University of Chicago, Eckhart Hall, 1118 East 50th Street, Chicago, Illinois 60637
 Vice-Presidents: Richard D. Anderson, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin 53706; Edwin H. Spanier, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720 Secretary: Everett Pitcher, Department of Mathematics, Lehigh University, Bethlehem,

Pennsylvania 18015

Associate Secretaries: Paul T. Bateman, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61803; Walter H. Gottschalk, 41 Bretton Road, Middletown, Connecticut 06457; O. G. Harrold, Department of Mathematics, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida 32306; Kenneth A. Ross, Department of Mathematics, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403

Treasurer: W. T. Martin, Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Tech-

nology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139

Board of Trustees: Paul T. Bateman, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61803; Nathan Jacobson (ex officio); Irving Kaplansky, Department of Mathematics, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637; W. T. Martin (ex officio); Murray H. Protter, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720

Council Members: See inside back cover

### CHAIRMEN OF EDITORIAL AND COMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEES

Bulletin Editorial Committee: Murray H. Protter, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720

Proceedings Editorial Committee: Joseph J. Rotman, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801

Transactions and Memoirs Editorial Committee: Steve Armentrout, Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania 16802

Mathematical Reviews Editorial Committee: Frederick W. Gehring, Department of Mathematics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104

Colloquium Editorial Committee: George W. Mackey, Department of Mathematics, Harvard

University, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138

Mathematical Surveys Editorial Committee: Bertram Yood, Department of Mathematics,

University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403

Mathematics of Computation Editorial Committee: Eugene Isaacson, University Computing Center, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, New York, New York 10012

Committee to Monitor Problems in Communications: Alex Rosenberg, Department of Mathematics, White Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York 14850

Representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics: Hyman Bass, Department of Mathematics, Columbia University, New York, New York 10027; Raoul H. Bott, Department of Mathematics, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138

Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews: J. Burlak, 415 Fourth Street, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48103

Editor of Translations Projects: S. H. Gould, American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904

The annual dues of members of the Society are \$20, payable to the American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

THE BULLETIN OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY is published bimonthly in January, March, May, July, September and November. Price per annual volume is \$12. Subscriptions, orders for back numbers, and inquiries in regard to nondelivery of current numbers should be addressed to the American Mathematical Society, 321 South Main Street, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

Second-class postage paid at Providence, Rhode Island and additional mailing offices.

# **BULLETIN**

of the

## AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

## Edited by

GIAN-CARLO ROTA M. H. PROTTER HANS F. WEINBERGER

VOLUME 78 JANUARY to DECEMBER, 1972

CODEN: BAMOAD

Published by the American Mathematical Society Providence, Rhode Island