510 THE APRIL MEETING IN BERKELEY

42 ten-minute papers listed in the program, 8 were presented by title; two late papers were added to the program, so that 36 ten-minute papers were actually presented.

SYMPOSIUM ON ANALYTIC NUMBER THEORY

With the support of the National Science Foundation, there was a symposium on Analytic Number Theory on Monday through Thursday, March 27-30. This topic was chosen by the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Western Sectional Meetings, which during 1971 consisted of Paul T. Bateman (chairman), Roger C. Lyndon, and Lawrence Markus. The Organizing Committee of the symposium, responsible for the planning of the program and the choice of speakers, consisted of Harold G. Diamond (chairman), Patrick X. Gallagher, Hugh L. Montgomery, Wolfgang M. Schmidt, and Harold M. Stark. The speakers at the Symposium were Alan Baker, Bruce C. Berndt, Enrico Bombieri, John Coates, Harold G. Diamond, Peter D. T. A. Elliott, Patrick X. Gallagher, Larry J. Goldstein, Emil Grosswald, Douglas A. Hensley, Christopher Hooley, Martin N. Huxley, Wolfgang B. Jurkat, Donald J. Lewis, Kurt Mahler. Hugh L. Montgomery, Harald G. Niederreiter, Karl K. Norton, Andrew P. Ogg, Walter V. Philipp, Hans-Egon Richert, Klaus F. Roth, Charles A. Ryavec, Daniel Shanks, Harold M. Stark, Judith S. Sunley, Paul Turán, Robert C. Vaughan, and Peter J. Weinberger.

URBANA, ILLINOIS

PAUL T. BATEMAN Associate Secretary

THE APRIL MEETING IN BERKELEY

The six hundred ninety-fourth meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the University of California, Berkeley, California, on Saturday, April 22, 1972. There were 130 registrants including 109 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Far Western Meetings, there were two one-hour addresses. Professor Roger Richardson of the University of Washington gave a lecture entitled On the variation of isotropy subgroups. He was introduced by Professor Hans Samelson. Professor Joseph L. Taylor of the University of Utah spoke on Functions of several noncommuting variables; he was introduced by Professor William B. Arveson.

There were seven sessions of contributed papers. They were chaired by Professors William B. Arveson, Grant B. Gustafson, John Rhodes, Donald W. Robinson, Roy W. Ryden, Takayuki Tamura and John B. Wagoner.

EUGENE, OREGON

KENNETH ROSS Associate Secretary