CODEN: BAMOAD

VOLUME 79 NUMBER 2 PAGES 227-500 MARCH 1973 ISSUE 743

BULLETIN

of the

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Edited by

GIAN-CARLO ROTA JOHN L. KELLEY HANS F. WEINBERGER

Published by the American Mathematical Society Providence, Rhode Island

AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

Business Office: P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904

Gordon L. Walker, Executive Director Lincoln K. Durst, Deputy Director

OFFICERS

President: Saunders Mac Lane, Department of Mathematics, Eckhart Hall, University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637

Ex-President: Nathan Jacobson, Department of Mathematics, Yale University, New Haven. Connecticut 06520

Vice-Presidents: Richard D. Anderson, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70803; R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, R. Creighton Buck, Department of Mathematics, R. Creighton Buck, R. Creighton Buck, R. Creighton matics, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wisconsin 53706; Edwin E. Moise, Department of Mathematics, City University of New York, Queen's College, Flushing, New York 11367

Secretary: Everett Pitcher, Department of Mathematics, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania 18015

Associate Secretaries: Paul T. Bateman, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801; Walter H. Gottschalk, Department of Mathematics, Wesleyan University, Middletown, Connecticut 06457; Orville G. Harrold, Jr., Department of Mathematics, Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida 32306; Kenneth A. Ross, Department of Mathematics, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon 97403

Treasurer: W. T. Martin, Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Tech-

nology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139

Associate Treasurer: Murray H. Protter, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720

Board of Trustees: Paul T. Bateman, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801; Ralph P. Boas, Department of Mathematics, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois 60201; Saunders Mac Lane (ex officio); W. T. Martin (ex officio); Richard S. Palais, Department of Mathematics, Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts 02154; Calvin C. Moore, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720; Murray H. Protter (ex officio); Abraham H. Taub, Department of Mathematics, University of California, Berkeley, California 94720 Council Members: See inside back cover.

CHAIRMEN OF EDITORIAL AND COMMUNICATION COMMITTEES

Bulletin Editorial Committee: Gian-Carlo Rota, Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139

Proceedings Editorial Committee: Joseph J. Rotman, Department of Mathematics. University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois 61801

Transactions and Memoirs Editorial Committee: Steve Armentrout, Department of Mathematics, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania 16802

Mathematical Reviews Editorial Committee: Frederick W. Gehring, Department of Mathematics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104

Colloquium Editorial Committee: Alberto P. Calderón, Department of Mathematics,

University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois 60637

Mathematical Surveys Editorial Committee: Edgar H. Brown, Jr., Department of Mathematics, Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts 02154

Mathematics of Computation Editorial Committee: Eugene Isaacson, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University, 251 Mercer Street, New York, New York

Committee to Monitor Problems in Communication: Alex Rosenberg, Department of Mathematics, White Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, New York 14850

Representatives of the Society on the Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics: Hyman Bass, Department of Mathematics, Columbia University, New York, New York 10027; I. M. Singer, Department of Mathematics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02139

Executive Editor of Mathematical Reviews: Jacob Burlak, 1315 Hill Street, Ann Arbor, Michigan 48104

Editor of Translations Projects: Ben Silver, American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904

For members whose annual professional income is below \$15,000, the dues are \$24; for those whose professional income is \$15,000 or more, the dues are \$32. Dues are payable to the American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

THE BULLETIN OF THE AMERICAN MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY is published bimonthly in January, March, May, July, September and November. Price per annual volume is \$14. Orders for subscriptions and back numbers, and inquiries in regard to nondelivery of current issues should be addressed to the American Mathematical Society, P.O. Box 6248, Providence, Rhode Island 02904.

Second-class postage paid at Providence, Rhode Island and additional mailing offices.