A resolution to separate the question into three procedural resolutions failed. The procedural resolution then passed.

It was noted that the resolutions would be considered by the Council, by the Executive Committee of the Council, and by an ad hoc committee and that comments from members could be addressed to the Secretary. Some advantages and disadvantages of a ballot by mail were discussed.

Professor Anatole Beck introduced the following resolution:

The business meeting urges the Council and staff of the Society to be more solicitous of the financial resources of the membership in the choice of meeting sites, and requests that there not be a repetition of the enormously expensive meeting now finishing.

After discussion of pertinent matters, the resolution was passed. The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 P.M.

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA

URBANA, ILLINOIS

EVERETT PITCHER Secretary

PAUL T. BATEMAN
Associate Secretary

THE APRIL MEETING IN STANFORD

The seven hundred second meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at Stanford University, Stanford, California, on Saturday, April 14, 1973. There were 115 registrants including 95 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Far Western Sectional Meetings, there were two invited addresses. Professor Theodore W. Gamelin of the University of California, Los Angeles, lectured on *The algebra of bounded analytic functions*. He was introduced by Professor William G. Badé. Professor Robert M. Blumenthal of the University of Washington addressed the Society on *Stopping time constructions*. He was introduced by Professor K. Bruce Erickson.

Professor David Gilbarg organized two Special Sessions on Partial Differential Equations consisting of thirty-minute talks. The speakers were Michael G. Crandall, Paul C. Fife, C. Denson Hill, Mario Miranda, Keith Miller and L. M. Simon.

There were six sessions of contributed ten-minute papers. They were chaired by Afton H. Cayford, Herman Chernoff, Moses E. Cohen, Karel De Leeuw, Myron Krom, and Stuart A. Seligson.

Kenneth A. Ross Associate Secretary