THE SUMMER MEETING IN MISSOULA

The seventy-eighth summer meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the University of Montana in Missoula, Montana, from Tuesday, August 21, through Friday, August 24, 1973. There were 661 registrants, including 487 members of the Society. This meeting was held in conjunction with the Mathematical Association of America and Pi Mu Epsilon.

There were two series of Colloquium Lectures, each consisting of four hour lectures. Professor Errett A. Bishop of the University of California, San Diego, presented a series of Colloquium Lectures entitled *Schizophrenia in contemporary mathematics*. He was introduced at his four lectures by Professors Saunders Mac Lane, Philip C. Curtis, Jr., Leonard Gillman, and Felix E. Browder. The other series of Colloquium Lectures was given by Professor Felix E. Browder of the University of Chicago. The title of his lectures was *Nonlinear functional analysis*, and its applications to nonlinear partial differential and integral equations. Professor Browder was introduced by Professors Saunders Mac Lane, Murray H. Protter, W. V. Petryshyn, and Michael Golomb.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Annual and Summer Meetings, there were twelve hour addresses. Professor Richard M. Dudley of Massachusetts Institute of Technology lectured on Binomial probabilities; he was introduced by Professor Herman Rubin. Professor Wendell H. Fleming of Brown University spoke on Diffusion processes and migration models in population genetics theory; he was introduced by Professor Jan Mycielski. Professor Patrick X. Gallagher of Columbia University spoke on Approaches to Goldbach's problem; he was introduced by Professor Bruce C. Berndt. Professor Herman R. Gluck of the University of Pennsylvania lectured on Piecewise linear methods in Riemannian geometry in the large; he was introduced by Professor Richard S. Palais. Professor Robin Hartshorne of the University of California, Berkeley, spoke on Projective varieties of small codimension; he was introduced by Professor Saunders Mac Lane. Professor F. Reese Harvey of Rice University lectured on Some structure theorems in several complex variables; he was introduced by Professor Edgar Lee Stout. Professor F. E. P. Hirzebruch of the University of California, Berkeley, lectured on The Hilbert modular group; he was introduced by Professor Alex Rosenberg. Professor Jan Mycielski of the University of Colorado gave a lecture entitled Towards a mathematical theory of memory; he was introduced by Professor Richard B. Barrar. Professor W. Y. Petryshyn of Rutgers

University gave an address entitled On the approximation-solvability of equations involving A-proper and pseudo-A-proper mappings; he was introduced by Professor William A. Kirk. Professor J. Ian Richards of the University of Minnesota gave a lecture entitled On the incompatibility of two conjectures concerning primes: A discussion on the use of computers in attacking a theoretical problem (based on joint work with Douglas Hensley); he was introduced by Professor John L. Selfridge. Professor Harold M. Stark of Massachusetts Institute of Technology spoke on The analytic theory of algebraic numbers; he was introduced by Professor Derrick H. Lehmer. Professor James Simons of the State University of New York, Stony Brook, lectured on Some invariants of flat bundles; he was introduced by Professor Carl B. Allendoerfer.

There were twenty sessions of contributed ten-minute papers. These sessions were chaired by Mr. L. R. Arokiaraj, Dr. David W. Bash, Professors Russel G. Bilyeu, Charles A. Bryan, Willie R. Callahan, Sister Rita Cordia Ehrmann, Professors Michael J. Fisher, Michael A. Geraghty, Dr. Charles L. Hagopian, Professors Erwin K. H. Hoehn, R. Keown, Dong Sie Kim, Clark H. Kimberling, Margaret M. LaSalle, Wolodymyr R. Madyeh, Dr. George H. Pimbley, Professors Irwin Schochetman, Beauregard Stubblefield, Dr. Robert G. Van Meter, and Professor Gordon S. Woodward.

Prior to the main sessions of the meeting, a special two-day Short Tutorial Introduction to Computer Science was held. The course was presented by three speakers, each of whom presented two lectures. The lecturers, and their topics, were: J. T. Schwartz (New York University): *Programming: The technique of algorithm description*; R. Karp (University of California at Berkeley): *Lower and upper bounds on the computational complexity of combinatorial problems*; A. Meyer (MIT): *Discrete computation: theory and open problems*. There were approximately 100 registrants for the course.

The Council met on August 21, 1973 at the Florence Motor Inn, with President Mac Lane in the chair.

The Council received the resignation of William Ted Martin as Treasurer, effective on the day of the meeting, and elected Franklin P. Peterson to the post of Treasurer for the remainder of the term. It is noted that the Trustees subsequently approved.

The Council nominated persons for positions on the ballot of 1973 as follows:

President-elect: Lipman Bers Vice-President (two positions): Raoul H. Bott Irving Kaplansky

Jürgen K. Moser Halsey L. Royden Member-at-large of the Council (five positions): Charles W. Curtis Robion C. Kirby Jim Douglas Jr. Joshua A. Leslie Phillip A. Griffiths Raymond O. Wells Herbert B. Keller Associate Secretary (two positions): Paul T. Bateman Kenneth A. Ross Members of Publications Committees: Bulletin: Paul R. Halmos Colloquium: Alberto P. Calderón Mathematical Reviews: Robert G. Bartle Mathematical Surveys: Edgar H. Brown, Jr. Mathematics of Computation: Alston S. Householder Proceedings (two positions): Robert M. Fossum Barbara L. Osofsky Transactions and Memoirs (two positions): Philip T. Church Schlomo Sternberg Board of Editors of the American Journal of Mathematics: Hyman Bass Members of the Committee to Monitor Problems in Communication (two positions): George B. Seligman Hale F. Trotter Trustee: Alex Rosenberg The Council took note of nominations by petition for the position of member-at-large of the Council of the following individuals: Judy Green Benjamin J. Martin Lee Lorch Jane Cronin Scanlon. The Council set a rate of dues of \$10.00 for individuals who are students or are unemployed. It is noted that the Trustees approved. The Council set minimum institutional dues at \$200. It is noted that the Trustees approved.

The Business Meeting was convened on August 23, 1973 in the University Center by President Mac Lane.

The Secretary reported actions of the Council to the membership, as detailed above.

The Council had recommended that the bylaws be amended by deleting certain words from Article VIII, Section 3. The first sentence reads

Application for admission to ordinary membership shall be made by the applicant on a blank provided by the secretary [, and shall be approved either by two ordinary members of the Society or by the institutional member whose nominee he is (see Article IX Section 6)].

The words to be deleted are enclosed in brackets. Notice of the proposed amendment was given in the announcement of the meeting. The Business Meeting approved the amendment.

There was no new business and the meeting was adjourned.

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA

EVERETT PITCHER Secretary KENNETH A. Ross Associate Secretary

EUGENE, OREGON

442