THE MAY COUNCIL MEETING IN DEKALB

The Council met on Sunday, May 12, 1974 in DeKalb. The Council authorized three invitations to Colloquium Lecturers, namely

> I. M. Singer January 1976 William Browder August 1976 Jurgen K. Moser August 1976

The Council elected Chandler Davis to replace Jacob Feldman as a member of the Editorial Committee of the Proceedings while the latter is on temporary leave from his editional duties. [The Board of Trustees subsequently approved the election.]

The Council received the information that Fred G. Abramson and James Li-Ming Wang had been offered doctoral fellowships and had accepted. The Council voted to recommend to the Trustees that the postdoctoral fellowship program be continued for another year with continuation of the subsidy by the Society based on the same matching formula.

The Council approved a Summer Institute for the Summer of 1975 on the subject of Functions of Several Complex Variables, with Robert C. Gunning and Hugo Rossi as co-chairmen of the organizing committee and co-editors.

The Council approved a symposium, to be sponsored jointly with the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics, on the topic of Nonlinear Programming, with Richard Cottle as chairman of the organizing committee and editor.

The Nominating Committee, consisting of Steve Armentrout, Chairman, David M. Goldschmidt, J. J. Kohn, B. J. Pettis and David A. Sanchez, offered a slate. The Council then nominated the individuals on the slate, as follows:

Vice President (one position)

Member-at-large of the Council

(five positions)

Secretary

Associate Secretaries

Treasurer

Associate Treasurer

Cathleen S. Morawetz Joseph L. Taylor Arthur S. Wightman Robert Steinberg J. Ernest Wilkins, Jr. David Gale Phillip A. Griffiths Jonathan L. Alperin Everett Pitcher Walter Gottschalk O. G. Harrold, Jr.

John W. Milnor

Franklin P. Peterson Murray H. Protter

Members of Publication Committees

BulletinHans WeinbergerColloquiumS. S. ChernMathematical ReviewsD. J. Lewis

Copyright @ American Mathematical Society 1975

Mathematical Surveys

Mathematics of Computation

Proceedings Transactions and Memoirs

American Journal of Mathematics Committee to Monitor Problems in Communication Trustee Robert G. Bartle James H. Bramble Walter Gautschi Richard K. Miller Daniel W. Stroock Stephen Shatz I. M. Singer Leonard Gillman Robert M. Baer Calvin C. Moore

The Council nominated Frank L. Spitzer and Joseph B. Keller to represent the Society to the Division of Mathematical Sciences of the National Research Council.

The Council approved a set of operating procedures for its Committee on Legal Aid, stating conditions under which the Committee might recommend to the Trustees that the Society lend money to an individual to facilitate legal recourse following a discriminatory injustice.

The Council recommended to the Trustees that a research-expository journal be established.

The Council confirmed the invitation to Fritz John to be the Gibbs Lecturer of 1975.

The Council authorized the President to appoint a Committee on Teaching Loads and Class Sizes, to carry out the terms of a resolution passed at the Business Meeting of January 27, 1974.

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA

EVERETT PITCHER Secretary