## THE MARCH MEETING IN NEW YORK

The seven hundred twenty-second meeting of the American Mathematical Society was held at the Biltmore Hotel in New York, New York, from Sunday, March 23, through Wednesday, March 26, 1975. There were 214 registrants including 173 members of the Society.

By invitation of the Committee to Select Hour Speakers for Eastern Sectional Meetings, there were two one-hour addresses. Professor Herman Chernoff of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology spoke on *Identifying a member of a large population using noisy data;* he was introduced by Dr. Joseph B. Kruskal. Professor Peter J. Freyd of the University of Pennsylvania spoke on *Topoi: Applications to and from logic;* he was introduced by Professor Hyman Bass.

On Tuesday there was a program entitled A day of differential equations which was organized and chaired by Professor Jack K. Hale of Brown University. Lecturers were: Professors Donald Aronson, Nathaniel Chafee, Shui-Nee Chow, Daniel Henry and Jerrold Marsden.

There were eleven sessions for contributed ten-minute papers, chaired by Professor Denis L. Blackmore, Dr. James D'Archangelo, Professors Richard S. Ellis, Christopher J. Henrich, Ms. Pao-Sheng Hsu, Professors Kenneth D. Magill, Jr., Leon S. Newman, Jr., John de Pillis, Sherwood D. Silliman, Marshall Slemrod and Dr. E. R. Suryanarayan.

With the support of the National Science Foundation and the Energy Research and Development Administration (formerly Atomic Energy Commission), a symposium on Nonlinear Programming was held on Sunday and Monday. This topic was selected by the AMS-SIAM Committee on Applied Mathematics whose members are Earl A. Coddington, Richard C. DiPrima (chairman), Lester E. Dubins, Harold Grad, J. Barkley Rosser and W. Gilbert Strang. The organizing committee consisted of Richard W. Cottle (chairman), Carlton E. Lemke, Stephen M. Robinson and J. Ben Rosen. Speakers were: John E. Dennis, Jr. (Cornell University), B. Curtis Eaves (Stanford University), Harold W. Kuhn (Princeton University), David G. Luenberger (Stanford University), Olvi L. Mangasarian (University of Wisconsin), G. P. McCormick (George Washington University), M. J. D. Powell (Atomic Energy Research Establishment, Harwell, England), R. Tyrrell Rockafellar (University of Washington) and Philip Wolfe (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center). The four sessions were chaired by the members of the organizing committee.

There was a concurrent meeting of the Association for Women in Mathematics organized by Professor Linda Keen.

MIDDLETOWN, CONNECTICUT

WALTER H. GOTTSCHALK Associate Secretary

Copyright © American Mathematical Society 1975