Skip to Main Content

AMS Undergraduate Opportunity Awards: Creating Opportunity for Mathematics Students

Since 1991, over 200 promising math students have received awards to ensure that financial hardship does not stand in the way of completing their degree program, thanks to a bequest from the estate of Waldemar J. and Barbara G. Trjitzinsky, along with their daughter Juliet B.

In recent years, a new award — the Edmund Landau Award — joined the Trjitzinsky Awards to expand the Undergraduate Opportunity Awards program and support more students in the future.

Thanks to these generous donors, this program benefits mathematics students when they need it most. Interviews with past awardees show that along with the monetary support comes a strong sense of affirmation that encouraged them to persevere in their studies. Read more about past recipients and their paths in mathematics.

This award honors Waldemar J. Trjitzinsky
This award honors Edmund Landau
This award honors William Lockwood Forster

To make these annual awards, the AMS randomly selects a number of geographically distributed AMS institutional member schools, who in turn issue one-time awards to beginning mathematical students to assist them in pursuit of careers in mathematics. The number of recipients and scholarship amount vary; in 2023, ten undergraduates each received awards of $3,000. There is no application process for these awards. If you have any questions, contact the Programs department.

Your gift to these three Undergraduate Opportunity Awards will support rising mathematicians across the country. You may also create your own named fund to create an Undergraduate Opportunity Award to benefit future generations of math students in need. To make a gift or for more information, please email or call Douglas Allen, Director of Development at 401-455-4126