Remote Access Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society
Green Open Access

Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society

ISSN 1088-6826(online) ISSN 0002-9939(print)



Entropy estimates for some C$^*$-endomorphisms

Author: Valentin Deaconu
Journal: Proc. Amer. Math. Soc. 127 (1999), 3653-3658
MSC (1991): Primary 46L55, 28D20
Published electronically: May 17, 1999
MathSciNet review: 1632272
Full-text PDF

Abstract | References | Similar Articles | Additional Information

Abstract: In this paper we compute the non-commutative topological entropy in the sense of Voiculescu for some endomorphisms of stationary inductive limits of circle algebras. These algebras are groupoid C*-algebras, and the endomorphisms restricted to the canonical diagonal are induced by some expansive maps, whose entropies provide a lower bound. For the upper bound, we use a result of Voiculescu, similar to the classical Kolmogorov-Sinai theorem. The same technique is used to compute the entropy of a non-commutative Markov shift.

References [Enhancements On Off] (What's this?)

  • [De] V. Deaconu, A Path Model for Circle Algebras, JOT 34(1995), 57-89. MR 96m:46113
  • [Fr] S. Friedland, Entropy of graphs, semigroups and groups, in Ergodic theory of $\mathbf{Z}^d$-actions, 319-343, Cambridge 1996. MR 97f:58080
  • [St] E. Størmer, Entropy in Operator Algebras, Asterisque 232(1995), 211-230. MR 96m:46127
  • [Vo] D.V. Voiculescu, Dynamical Approximation Entropies and Topological Entropy in Operator Algebras, Commun. Math. Phys 170(1995), 249-281. MR 97b:46082
  • [Wa] P. Walters, An Introduction to Ergodic Theory, GTM 79, Springer Verlag 1982. MR 84e:28017

Similar Articles

Retrieve articles in Proceedings of the American Mathematical Society with MSC (1991): 46L55, 28D20

Retrieve articles in all journals with MSC (1991): 46L55, 28D20

Additional Information

Valentin Deaconu
Affiliation: Department of Mathematics, University of Nevada, Reno, Nevada 89557

Received by editor(s): February 20, 1998
Published electronically: May 17, 1999
Communicated by: David R. Larson
Article copyright: © Copyright 1999 American Mathematical Society

American Mathematical Society