Skip to Main Content

The AMS at 6ECM

6ecm logo The Sixth European Congress of Mathematics (6ECM) was held July 2-7, 2012, in Kraków, Poland. The Congress included plenary lectures, prize presentations, invited and prize winner lectures, poster presentations, mini-symposia, panel discussions, social events, satellite meetings, and the exhibition by publishers, vendors and mathematical societies. The American Mathematical Society was pleased to participate in 6ECM as one of the 20 publishers and organizations represented in the exhibition, and to sponsor two Poster Session prize winners: Diana Knipl ("Modelling the spread of influenza on long distance travel networks with real air traffic") and Ana Nistor ("Constant angle surfaces in 3-manifolds").

The Plenary Speakers were Adrian Constantin, Camillo De Lellis, Herbert Edelsbrunner, Mikhail Gromov, Christopher Hacon, David Kazhdan, Tomasz Łuczak, Sylvia Serfaty, Saharon Shelah, and Michel Talagrand.

Ten European Mathematical Society (EMS) prizes were presented at the opening ceremony to Simon Brendle, Emmanuel Breuillard, Alessio Figalli, Adrian Ioana, Mathieu Lewin, Ciprian Manolescu, Grégory Miermont, Sophie Morel, Tom Sanders and Corinna Ulcigrai. The Felix Klein Prize was given to Emmanuel Trélat, and the newly established Otto Neugebauer Prize in the History of Mathematics was given to Jan P. Hogendijk. See detailed information on the prizes, prizewinners, citations and photographs.

6ECM, 2012 6ECM, 2012

Umieszczaja˛c muzyke˛ na mapieThe American Mathematical Society hosted an exhibit, staffed by a representative from the AMS Publications Division, and another from Eurospan, the company that sells AMS books in Europe. In addition to displaying AMS books, the Society demonstrated features of MathSciNet and gave away posters and Mathematical Moments (including some that are translated into Polish and other languages).

The 6ECM website includes the full program, list of speakers, and many photographs.

--- Annette Emerson, AMS Public Awareness Officer