From the AMS

2001 Election Results

In the elections of 2001 the Society elected a president elect, vice president, a trustee, five members at large of the Council, two members of the Editorial Boards Committee, and three members of the Nominating Committee. Terms for these positions are three years beginning on 1 February 2002 and ending on 31 January 2005, except for the president elect, whose term is for one year (followed by duties as president and as immediate past president), and for the trustee, whose term is for five years ending on 31 January 2007. Members elected to the Nominating Committee begin serving immediately, and their terms end on 31 December 2004.

President Elect

Elected as the new president elect is **David Eisenbud** from the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute.

Vice President

Elected as the new vice president is **Hugo Rossi** from the University of Utah.

Trustee

Elected as the new trustee is **Carol S. Wood** from Wesleyan University.

Members at Large of the Council

Elected as new members at large of the Council are
Colin C. Adams from Williams College
Sylvia T. Bozeman from Spelman College
Irene M. Gamba from the University of Texas at Austin
Henri A. Gillet from the University of Illinois at Chicago
David R. Morrison from Duke University

Editorial Boards Committee

Elected as new members of the Editorial Boards Committee are

Clifford J. Earle from Cornell University

Svetlana Jitomirskaya from the University of California, Irvine

Nominating Committee

Elected as new members of the Nominating Committee are **Sheldon Axler** from San Francisco State University **Robert M. Fossum** from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Jane Hawkins from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Amendments to the Bylaws

Amendments to the Bylaws concerning voting mechanics were approved.

Suggestions for elections to be held in the fall of 2002 are solicited by the 2002 Nominating Committee. Positions to be filled in the 2002 election are: vice president, trustee, and five members at large of the Council. Suggestions should be sent to the secretary.

Suggestions for nominations for two positions on the Editorial Boards Committee and three positions on the 2003 Nominating Committee can also be sent to the secretary:

Robert J. Daverman, Secretary American Mathematical Society 312D Ayres Hall University of Tennessee Knoxville, TN 37996-1330 secretary@ams.org

The deadline for suggestions is 28 February 2002.