## Sinai Receives 2002 Nemmers Prize



Yakov G. Sinai

YAKOV G. SINAI has been awarded the Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics. The prize carries a cash award of \$125,000.

Sinai is internationally regarded as a pioneer in the field of dynamical systems. His work

has revolutionized the study of dynamical systems and influenced statistical mechanics, probability theory, and statistical physics.

Sinai received his bachelor's, master's, and doctorate degrees from Moscow State University. He has held several positions with Moscow State University, including researcher in the Laboratory of Probabilistic and Statistical Methods (1971–present) and professor of mathematics (1971–93). In addition, Sinai has served as a senior researcher at the Landau Institute of Theoretical Physics, Academy of Sciences. Since 1993 he has been a professor at Princeton University.

Sinai's contributions have been recognized by numerous organizations. He has been the recipient of several awards and honors, including memberships in the Russian, U.S., and Hungarian Academies of Science, and an honorary membership in the London Mathematical Society. Other awards include the Wolf Prize in Mathematics (1997), the Dirac Medal (1992), the Markov Prize

(1990), the Heineman Prize (1989), and the Boltzmann Gold Medal (1986). Sinai has spoken four times at the International Congress of Mathematicians.

The Frederic Esser Nemmers Prize in Mathematics and the Erwin Plein Nemmers Prize in Economics are awarded to scholars who display outstanding achievement in their disciplines as demonstrated by major contributions to new knowledge or the development of significant new modes of analysis. Initiated in 1994, they are made possible through bequests from the late Erwin E. Nemmers, a former member of the Northwestern University faculty, and his brother, the late Frederic E. Nemmers, both of Milwaukee. The Nemmers Prizes are awarded every other year. The 2002 Nemmers Prize in Economics was awarded to Edward Prescott of the University of Minnesota.

Previous recipients of the Nemmers Prize in Mathematics are: Edward Witten (2000), John H. Conway (1998), Joseph B. Keller (1996), and Yuri I. Manin (1994).

-From Northwestern University announcements