Mathematics People

Dawson Awarded CRM-Fields Prize

DONALD DAWSON, professor emeritus at Carleton University, has been awarded the 2004 CRM-Fields Prize. The prize,



awarded annually by the Centre de Recherches Mathématiques in Montreal and The Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Sciences in Toronto, recognizes exceptional contributions by a mathematician working in Canada. The prize carries a cash award of 5,000 Canadian dollars (approximately US\$3,850), and the recipient is expected to present a lecture at the CRM and at The Fields Institute.

Dawson was recognized for exceptional achievement in the

field of probability. He has

Donald Dawson

Dawson-Watanabe superprocess.

made seminal contributions to the study of spatially distributed stochastic processes and infinite-dimensional branching systems, including the

Dawson received his B.Sc. from McGill in 1958 and his doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 1963. He taught at both McGill University and Carleton University, where he is now professor emeritus. His leadership within the Canadian mathematical community includes a term as director of The Fields Institute from 1996 to 2000.

Dawson is a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, the International Statistical Institute, and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. Other honors include the 1991 Gold Medal Lecture of the Statistical Society of Canada, the 1994 Jeffery-Williams lecture of the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS), an invited lecture at the 1994 International Congress of Mathematicians, and The Fields Institute's Distinguished Lecture Series in the Statistical Sciences. His numerous editorial contributions include serving as co-editor-in-chief of the *Canadian Journal of Mathematics*. He has served his profession through numerous committees of the CMS and of the National Science and Engineering Research Council. He is currently president-elect of the Bernoulli Society for Mathematical Statistics and Probability.

Previous recipients of the CRM-Fields Prize are H. S. M. (Donald) Coxeter, George A. Elliot, James G. Arthur, Robert V. Moody, Stephen A. Cook, Israel Michael Sigal, William T. Tutte, John B. Friedlander, John McKay, and Edwin Perkins.

-From a CRM announcement

AWM Essay Contest Winners Announced

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) has announced the winners of its 2003 essay contest, "Biographies of Contemporary Women in Mathematics". The Grand Prize went to Esther Feldblum, Maimonides School, Sharon, Massachusetts, for her essay "Dr. Harpreet Chowdhary: The Mathematician As Executive". This essay won first place in the grade 9-12 category, and as grand prizewinner it will be published in the AWM Newsletter. The first-place winner in the college category was JESSICA JOHN of Willamette University, Salem, Oregon, for "Elizabeth Stanhope: Overcoming Silent Barriers". In the middle school category the first-place winner was SERGEI SHUBIN of Joaquin Miller Middle School, San Jose, California, for "I Seek an Answer to the Question 'Why?'-Dr. Helen Moore". A complete list of the winners, as well as copies of their essays, may be found on the AWM website at http://www.awm-math. org/biographies/contest/2003.html.

-From an AWM announcement