Skip to Main Content

E. H. Moore Research Article Prize

The Moore Prize is awarded  for an outstanding research article to have appeared in one of the AMS primary research journals (namely, the Journal of the AMS, Proceedings of the AMS, Transactions of the AMS, Memoirs of the AMS, Communications of the AMSMathematics of Computation, Electronic Journal of Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, and Electronic Journal of Representation Theory) during the six calendar years ending a full year before the meeting at which the prize is awarded.

About this Prize

The prize was established in 2002 in honor of E. H. Moore. Among other activities, Moore founded the Chicago branch of the American Mathematical Society, served as the Society's sixth President (1901-1902), delivered the Colloquium Lectures in 1906, and founded and nurtured the Transactions of the AMS.

The current prize amount is US$5,000, awarded every three years.

Most Recent Prize: 2022

The 2022 E.H. Moore Research Article Prize was awarded to Piotr Przytycki and Daniel Wise, both from McGill University, for the paper "Mixed 3-manifolds are virtually special," published in the Journal of the American Mathematical Society (Vol. 31, No. 2, 2018, pp. 319-347).

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2025

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure: 

Submit a letter of nomination, a complete bibliographic citation for the work being nominated, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important.

Nominate a colleague