Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement (1993 - present)

The Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement is awarded for the cumulative influence of the total mathematical work of the recipient, high level of research over a period of time, particular influence on the development of a field, and influence on mathematics through Ph.D. students.

See also:

Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition
Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research
Leroy P. Steele Prize (1970 - 1992)

About this Prize

These prizes were established in 1970 in honor of George David Birkhoff, William Fogg Osgood, and William Caspar Graustein, and are endowed under the terms of a bequest from Leroy P. Steele. From 1970 to 1976 one or more prizes were awarded each year for outstanding published mathematical research; most favorable consideration was given to papers distinguished for their exposition and covering broad areas of mathematics. In 1977 the Council of the AMS modified the terms under which the prizes are awarded. In 1993, the Council formalized the three categories of the prize by naming each of them: (1) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement; (2) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition; and (3) The Leroy P. Steele Prize for Seminal Contribution to Research.

The amount of this prize is US$10,000.

Most Recent Prize: 2019

The 2019 Lifetime Achievement Prize was awarded to Jeff Cheeger for his fundamental contributions to geometric analysis and their far-reaching influence on related areas of mathematics.

Prize announcement as seen in Notices of the AMS and in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2020

Nomination Deadline:  31 March 2020

Nomination Procedure: 

Nominations can be submitted between February 1 and March 31. Nominations for the Steele Prizes for Lifetime Achievement should include a letter of nomination, the nominee's CV, and a short citation to be used in the event that the nomination is successful.  Nominations will remain active and receive consideration for three consecutive years.

Nominate a colleague