Skip to Main Content

Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics

Photo courtesy of Joan Birman
The Satter Prize recognizes an outstanding contribution to mathematics research by a woman in the previous six years.

About this Prize

This prize was established in 1990 using funds donated by Joan S. Birman in memory of her sister, Ruth Lyttle Satter. Professor Birman requested that the prize be established to honor her sister's commitment to research and to encourage women in science. An anonymous benefactor added to the endowment in 2008.

The current prize amount is $5,000 and the prize is awarded every 2 years.

Most Recent Prize: 2023

The 2023 Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize is awarded to Panagiota Daskalopoulos of Columbia University and Natasa Sesum of Rutgers University for their groundbreaking work in the study of ancient solutions to geometric evolution equations..

Prize announcement as seen in the news release.

See previous winners

Next Prize:  January 2025

Nomination Period:  1 February - 31 May

Nomination Procedure: 

Submit a letter of nomination describing the candidate's accomplishments including complete bibliographic citations for the work being nominated, a CV for the nominee, and a brief citation that explains why the work is important.

Nominate a colleague